# Commission on Graduate and Professional Studies and Policies 2021-2022 Members

**Charge**: To study, formulate, and recommend to University Council policies and procedures concerning on- and off-campus post-baccalaureate academic matters. Areas for consideration include: admissions, academic progress, degree requirements, commencement; registration and scheduling; curricula, courses, advising, and instruction; teaching and research; financial assistance including assistantships, scholarships, fellowships, and tuition; library resources; and other matters affecting the graduate and professional student academic environment.

Chair - Elected from non-administrative faculty & staff members of Commission by
membership

Marcia Feuerstein	Chair	202	2

#### **Ex Officio**

Aimée Surprenant	Dean for Graduate Education	ex officio
Rachel Holloway	Vice Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs	ex officio
Tyler Walters	Dean of University Libraries	ex officio

### One off-campus center representative appointed by the Executive Vice President & Provost (three-year term)

Scott Weimer Center for Organizational and Technological Advancement 2024

#### One academic dean selected by Council of College Deans (two-year term)

Laura Belmonte Liberal Arts and Human Sciences 2022

### Two faculty senators elected by Faculty Senate (three-year terms)

Montasir Abbas	Civil & Environmental Engineering	2023
Bob Hicok	English	2022

## Faculty representatives from each of the academic colleges elected by the faculty in each college (three-year terms)

Rebecca Pauly	Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine	2023
Pengtao Yue	Science	2023
Coy Allen	Veterinary Medicine	2022
Marcia F. Feuerstein	Architecture and Urban Studies	2022
Barbara Hoopes	Business	2022
Nancy Bodenhorn	Liberal Arts and Human Sciences	2022
Chip Frazier	Natural Resources and Environment	2024
Joseph Eifert	Agriculture and Life Sciences	2024
Cliff Shaffer	Engineering	2022

One tenure-track faculty member from the Greater Washington, D.C. Metro Area Campus to be
appointed by the Executive Vice President and Provost (three-year term)

Christina DiMarino Electrical and Computer Engineering 2024

One representative from the Library Faculty Association elected by the Library Faculty Association (three-year term)

Nathaniel Porter University Libraries 2022

One staff senator elected by Staff Senate (three-year term)

Hannah Parks Industrial and Systems Engineering 2023

One non-ex officio A/P faculty representative elected by the Administrative and Professional Faculty Senate from: general administration, academic support, student affairs, Extension (three-year term) (the Administrative and Professional Faculty Senate will provide names of elected individuals.)

Amanda Covey Biomedical Engineering 2024

Chair of the Graduate Honor System (By virtue of position) (one-year term)

Kayla Alward Chair of the Graduate Honor System 2022

Five graduate students representing the Graduate and Professional Student Senate (one-year terms) (Two must be senate members; At least three colleges must be represented)

Jordan Wescott	Counselor Education	2022
Roan Parrish	Science and Technology Studies	2022
Kait Malewicz	Biological Sciences	2022
Alina Valop	Geosciences	2022
Maruf Hoque	Translational Biology, Medicine and Health	2022

One representative representing the Undergraduate Student Senate (one-year term)

Hannah Upson Political Science 2022