Minutes Commission on Graduate Studies & Policies September 1, 2010 3:30 pm – 5:00 pm Graduate School Conference Room

Present: Dr. Tom Caceci, Dr. Carolyn Copenheaver, Dr. Karen DePauw, Ms. Keyana Ellis, Dr. Tom Grizzard, Dr. Sam Hicks, Dr. Jennifer Hodgson, Dr. Karen Hult, Dr. Jennifer Hodgson, Dr. Kumar Mallikarjunan, Dr. Tom Martin, Ms. Katie McKee, Mr. Jonathan Moore, Dr. Aaron Purcell, Dr. Kerry Redican, Dr. Susan Short via videoconference, Dr. Victoria Soghomonian, Ms. Hannah Swiger, Dr. Robin Panneton

Absent with Notification: Ms. Kimberly Carlson, Dr. Eileen Hitchingham, Mr. Mark Halsey

Absent without Notification: None.

Visitors and Invited Guests: Dr. Rosemary Blieszner, Mr. Deepu George, Ms. Ennis McCrery, Ms. Jacqueline Nottingham, Mr. Todd Ogle, Dr. Janet Rankin

Dr. Carolyn Copenheaver, Chair, called the meeting to order.

Approval of the agenda: Approved.

Approval of the minutes from April 21, 2010: Approved.

Dr. Karen DePauw gave her annual update to the commission on the state of the Graduate School.

Committee Reports

Dr. Copenheaver described the roles of the committees.

<u>Graduate Curriculum Committee (GCC)</u>: No committee report. Mr. Todd Ogle described the new proposal tracking system, *Hokie CAPS* (Curriculum **AP**proval **S**ystem). The primary objective of the new system is to track curriculum and course proposals from the college level, through the governance process. The committee chair is Dr. Kerry Redican.

<u>Graduate Student Appeals</u>: No report. New committee members for the academic year are Ms. Keyana Ellis, Dr. Thomas Martin, Dr. Aaron Purcell, and Dr. Victoria Soghomonian.

Graduate Student Relations: No report. Current members will serve through September.

<u>DRSCAP</u>: No report. New committee members for the academic year are Dr. Sam Hicks or Dr. Linda Wallace, Dr. Karen Hult, Dr. Lu Chang, Dr. Tom Grizzard, Ms. Katie McKee.

Other Reports

Graduate Student Assembly (GSA): Mr. Jonathon Moore reported that the GSA had their first meeting of the academic year. Dr. Karen DePauw gave the graudate students an update including the award of bonuses to graduate students. Current activities include determining who the department delegates are and reviewing the capital fee.

<u>Graduate Honor System (GHS)</u>: The commission voted to ratify the appointment of Ms. Kim Carlson as Chief Justice.

<u>University Library Committee (ULC)</u>: No report.

<u>University Council</u>: No report.

Old Business: None.

New Business: None. Dr. Copenheaver asked that commission members send new business items to her or Ms. Feuerbach no later than the Friday before the upcoming meeting. Mr. Moore reported suggested a topic for discussion might be the changed BT routes which are disadvantageous to some graduate student populations.

Announcements: None.

Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned at 4:45 pm.

Respectfully submitted:

Ms. Nancy B. Feuerbach, on behalf of

Dr. Karen P. DePauw, Vice President and Dean for Graduate Education