Minutes Commission on Graduate Studies & Policies September 7, 2011 3:30 pm – 5:00 pm Graduate School Conference Room

Present: Ms. Shaimaa Abdullah, Ms. Janice Austin, Dr. Marc Brodsky, Ms. Tara Frank for Ms. Katelin Schugart-Schmidt, Dr. Carolyn Copenheaver, Dr. Karen DePauw, Dr. Mark Halsey, Dr. Bernice Hausman, Dr. Jennifer Hodgson, Dr. Karen Hult, Mr. Mohammed Jalili, Dr. Kumar Mallikarjunan, Ms. Akiko Nakamura, Dr. Robin Panneton, Dr. Mayuressh Patil, Dr. Susan Short, Dr. Victoria Soghomonian, Dr. Leighton Vila

Absent with Notification: Dr. Patrick Miller, Dr. Tyler Walters

Absent without Notification: Dr. Tom Caceci, Ms. Natalie Cruise, Ms. Keyana Ellis, Dr. Tom Grizzard

Visitors and Invited Guests: Dr. Rosemary Blieszner, Dr. Eugene Brown, Ms. Michelle McLeese, Dr. Mark Pierson, Dr. Janet Rankin

Dr. Victoria Soghomonian, Chair, called the meeting to order. She asked commission members to introduce themselves. Dr. Soghomonian, Dr. Mallikarjunan, and Dr. DePauw described the role of a commission member.

Approval of the agenda: Approved.

Approval of the minutes from April 20, 2011: Approved.

Committee Reports

<u>Graduate Curriculum Committee (GCC)</u>: Dr. Mallikarjunan, Chair, described the function of the Graduate Curriculum Committee. The first committee meeting will be Thursday, September 8th. There are two new degrees under "New Business".

<u>Graduate Student Appeals</u>: Dr. DePauw described the function of the Graduate Student Appeals committee. Members of the committee are: Dr. Robin Panneton, Dr. Susan Short, Dr. Mayuresh Patil, Mr. Leighton Vila.

<u>Graduate Student Relations (GSR)</u>: Dr. DePauw convenes this committee on an "as needed" basis. There are no regular appointees assigned to this committee at the beginning of the year.

DRSCAP:

Dr. DePauw described the function of the DRSCAP committee. The committee selects a chair from their membership. Dr. Blieszner often works with the committee on issues as needed. Members of the committee are Dr. Carolyn Copenheaver, Dr. Mark Halsey, Dr. Mark Brodsky, Dr. Karen Hult, Ms. Shaimaa Abdallah, Ms. Akiko Nakamura.

Other Reports

<u>Graduate Student Assembly Report (GSA)</u> Ms. Shaimaa Abdallah reported that the new board was working on several initiatives. Last year GSA was successful in securing a new health insurance provider. The Child Care Committee remains active and the president and board of GSA are seeking new ideas from the delegate body.

<u>Graduate Honor System (GHS)</u>: The commission voted to ratify the appointment of the new chief justice, Ms. Katelin Schugart-Schmidt. Ms. Tara Frank represented Ms. Schugart-Schmidt at the meeting and had no report. Dr. DePauw suggested that Ms. Schugart-Schmidt describe her plans for the GHS this academic year at the next commission meeting.

University Library Committee (ULC): No report.

<u>University Council</u>: Dr. Soghomonian said that their will be a meeting of the chairs on Monday. The first scheduled meeting of the council is September 19th.

<u>State of the Graduate School</u>: Dr. DePauw began an overview of the Graduate School with a PowerPoint presentation. She will finish the presentation at the September 21^{st} meeting.

Old Business: None

New Business:

Dr. Eugene Brown and Dr. Mark Pierson presented two new degree proposals for a first reading by the commission:

- Masters Degree in Nuclear Engineering
- Doctoral Degree in Nuclear Engineering

Discussion included a recommendation to include text in the proposal which would reflect an awareness of possible social implications or controversy which might occur around issues such as nuclear energy. Suggestions included describing course options available to graduate students that address these concerns. A discrepancy in date of initiation on the cover sheet will be corrected.

Dr. Pierson will address these issues and present the revised proposals at the next meeting of the commission.

Dr. Blieszner reminded the commission that opportunities to review proposals occurred at the college level before being placed on the Graduate Curriculum Committee's agenda. She encouraged commission members to be proactive in encouraging faculty to participate in shared governance by addressing issues before they left the college's curriculum committee.

Announcements: None

Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned at 5:06 pm.

Respectfully submitted:

Ms. Nancy Feuerbach, on behalf of Dr. Karen P. DePauw, Vice President and Dean for Graduate Education