# **MINUTES**

Commission on Graduate Studies & Policies May 4, 2016 3:30 pm – 5:00 pm Graduate School Conference Room

**Present:** Dr. Karen DePauw (ex officio), Dr. Saul Halfon, Dr. Lujean Baab, Mr. Matt Chan, Ms. Kira Dietz, Dr. Kay Dunkley, Dr. Kevin Edgar, Dr. Rachel Holloway, Dr. William Huckle, Dr. James Jones, Dr. Sally Paulson, Ms. Emma Potter (representing Mr. Anthony Carno), Ms. Tara Reel, Ms. Kim Robbins, Dr. Hans Robinson, Dr. Scott Salom, Dr. Gary Seidel, and Mr. Mohammed Seyam.

**Absent with Notification:** Mr. Anthony Carno, Dr. Cyril Clarke, Dr. Charlene Eska, and Dr. Christopher Zobel.

**Absent without Notification:** Mr. Nathan Carter, Ms. Maria Stack, Dr. Tyler Walters (ex officio), and Ms. Sally Wieringa.

**Visitors and Invited Guests:** Ms. Janice Austin, Dr. Muhammed Hajj, Emma Potter, and Kyriakos Tsoukalas.

### Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Halfon at 3:30 p.m.

## Approval of the Agenda

The agenda was approved as presented.

### Approval of the Minutes from April 20, 2016

The minutes were approved as presented.

#### **Committee Reports**

#### Graduate Curriculum Committee

The minutes of April 28, 2016 were presented and accepted.

## Graduate Student Appeals Committee

Dr. Jones reported there were no appeals under review.

#### Degree Requirements, Standards, Criteria, and Academic Progress (DRSCAP) Committee

Mr. Chan reported on the committee's discuss of faculty representation on student committees.

### **Constituencies Updates**

### Graduate Student Assembly (GSA)

Mr. Chan reported the GSA held its last General Assembly Meeting of 2015-16 Thursday, April 28th, with President Sands and Provost Rikakis participating. The President and Provost shared their vision of Virginia Tech moving forward, and answered questions from GSA members regarding graduate education, student support, and the balance between partnership with private sector and being a land-grant institution.

The election of the 2016-17 GSA Executive Board officers was held. Chelsea Corkins, PhD candidate from Biological Systems Engineering and current GSA Director of Programs, and Brett Netto, PhD student from Planning, Governance and Globalization, were elected GSA President and Vice President respectively, along with four other GSA members who were also elected to the remaining positions. Together with Tara Reel, Masters student from the Urban and Regional Planning program as well as the Public Administration program, who will sit on the GSA Executive Board by virtue of her appointed position as the 2016-17 Graduate Representative to the Board of Visitors, the GSA Executive Board is well-positioned to tackle a full year beginning on June 1st.

After much hard work and diligence from GSA members, a new set of GSA Bylaws were drafted and approved by the GSA General Assembly. These Bylaws will serve as a guideline for GSA to operate effectively, efficiently, and transparently. The FY 2016-17 GSA Budget was also diligently prepared by Richard Rodrigues, GSA Director of Finance and recent doctoral graduate of the Genetics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology program, with the help of other GSA officers. This budget of nearly \$50,000, in combination with additional support from the Provost Office through the Graduate School, positioned the GSA for further growth in 2016-17 as well as effective service to the graduate student community at Virginia Tech.

The current GSA Executive Board officers will step down at the end of May. On behalf of the GSA, Mr. Chan thanked all members of the Commission for their support throughout the year, including but not limited to helping out with judging during the Research Symposium, getting the word out for programs and events, and offering advice to multiple matters related to GSA activities. He said the graduate student community is fortunate to have the Commission's support.

### Graduate Honor System (GHS)

There was no report.

### University Library Committee

Ms. Dietz reported it is a busy season for the library.

### Faculty Senate

Dr. Robinson reported on activities that have been accomplished this year. A reception will be held next Tuesday for the faculty and Provost. Dr. Monty Abbas is the President and Dr. Hans Robinson is the Vice President for next year.

### **Student Government Association**

There was no report.

## **University Council and Commission Updates**

Dr. Halfon reported that several resolutions were discussed and approved at the most recent meeting of University Council. Actions from the meeting are available in the minutes on the website.

There were no other commission updates.

### **Graduate School Update**

Dr. DePauw extended her thanks to Dr. Halfon for his good leadership this past year and especially noted the contributions that all of those rotating off the commission have made.

#### **Old Business**

Kyriakos Tsoukalas presented his revised iPhD proposal. The Commission members discussed data gathering, IRB practices, and the preliminary exam process. After the student left the room, further discussion was considered about what qualifiers need to be considered in an interdisciplinary proposal. Following the discussion by the Commission members, the proposal was approved.

The discontinuance of the Master and PhD in Hospitality and Tourism Management was approved.

The 2016-2017 CGS&P Commission officers were elected. Sally Paulson was elected as chair, and Kevin Edgar was elected as vice chair. The vice chair will also chair the Graduate Curriculum Committee.

#### **New Business**

There was no new business.

### **Announcements**

Dr. Halfon thanked everyone for their service this year and wished everyone an enjoyable summer.

**Adjournment:** The meeting was adjourned at 4:46 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

 $/_{S}/$ 

Marilynn R. King on behalf of Karen P. DePauw, Ph.D. Vice President and Dean for Graduate Education