Minutes Commission on Graduate Studies & Policies September 4, 2013 3:30 pm – 5:00 pm Graduate School Conference Room

Present: Ms. Shaimaa Abdallah, Ms. Beth Alley, Dr. Chad Bolding, Mr. Jordon Booker, Ms. Kara Dietz, Dr. Karen DePauw, Ms. Nancy Dudek, Dr. Kay Dunkley, Dr. Joe Eifert, Dr. Elankumaran Subbiah, Dr. Alireza Haghighat, Mr. Mordecai Harvey for Mr. Greg Purdy, Dr. Bernice Hausman, Dr. James Jones, Dr. Hans Robinson, Dr. Gary Seidel, Dr. Tyler Walters, Dr. Christopher Zobel

Absent with Notification: Dr. Gerhardt Schurig, Dr. Mayuresh Patil

Absent without Notification: Dr. Rachel Holloway

Visitors and Invited Guests: Dr. Rosemary Blieszner, Dr. Maura Borrego, Dr. Janet Rankin

Dr. Joe Eifert, Chair, called the meeting to order. Dr. Eifert asked the members of the commission to introduce themselves and reviewed the mission of the commission.

Approval of the agenda: Approved.

Approval of the minutes from April 17, 2013: Approved.

Committee Reports

<u>Graduate Curriculum Committee (GCC)</u>: The commission voted to approve Dr. Elankumaran Subbiah as Vice Chair of the committee. Dr. Blieszner explained the mission of the commission.

<u>Graduate Student Appeals</u>: No report. The committee members will be appointed when there is a first case. Currently there are no academic appeal cases.

Degree Requirements, Standards, Criteria, and Academic Progress (DRSCAP): Members of the 2013-2014 DRSCAP committee are: Dr. Joe Eifert, Dr. Hans Robinson, Dr. Kay Dunkley, Mr. Greg Purdy, and Ms. Nancy Dudek. Another student representative will be selected when more graduate students are appointed to the commission.

Interdisciplinary Degree Review Committee: The interdisciplinary degree was approved in the spring. The recommended review committee formation will include Dr. Maura Borrego, Chair, and two members of the commission. Additionally, two at-large members must be appointed. There will probably be one or two degree proposals this year.

Currently there is one GHS appeal scheduled for September 18. Dr. Chad Bolding and Mr. Mordecai Harvey will represent the commission on the appeal board.

Graduate Student Assembly: Ms. Shaimaa Abdallah reported that representatives from GSA were attending department orientations to talk about the GSA activities and funding opportunities. The Welcome Back Barbeque was attended by over 650 new graduate students; the ice cream social attracted 150 students. The first delegate meeting will be September 12th in the multi-purpose room, Graduate Life Center, and is open to anyone who would like to attend. After the meeting, the presidential search committee will seek input from graduate students. Last week the search committee sought input from Northern Virginia faculty and graduate students.

Graduate Honor System: Mr. Jordon Booker, Chief Justice, reported that GHS was wrapping up cases from spring semester. Most cases have been resolved; three cases are still open. GHS participated in orientation for new graduate students. There will be training for new volunteers.

University Library Committee: No report.

University Council: No report. As chair of the commission, Dr. Eifert met with Dr. Steger.

State of the Graduate School: Dr. Karen DePauw

Dr. DePauw gave a progress report and reviewed priorities for Graduate Education at Virginia Tech for 2013-2014. The report was accompanied by a PowerPoint presentation. Dr. DePauw's fall letter to the commission is posted in Scholar.

Old Business: None

New Business: None

Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned at 5:03 pm.

Respectfully submitted:

Ms. Nancy Feuerbach, on behalf of Dr. Karen P. DePauw, Vice President and Dean for Graduate Education