## COMMISSION ON RESEARCH Minutes March 5, 2014 President's Board Room 3:30pm – 5:00pm

Attendee: Jesus de la Garza (Chair), France Belanger (Vice Chair), Jewell Trent, Michael Bertelsen, Iuliana Lazar, Bill Knocke, Sue Teel, Tom Inzana, Martin Daniel (for Bob Walters), Annie Pearce, Mike Akers, Ben Knapp, Paul Knox, Jonah Fogel, Anita Puckett, Lay Nam Chang, and Monica Rich (recorder).

Absent: Jacob Randall, Nathan Hall, Chris Lawrence, Lenny Grant and Randy Wynne

Guest: Peggy Layne and Sandra Muse

- I. Approval of the Agenda a. A motion was made and seconded to adopt the agenda. The motion carried.
- II. Announcements
  - a. The December meeting minutes will be distributed along with the minutes from this meeting prior to our March 19, 2014 meeting.
- III. Unfinished Business

## IV. New Business

a. First Reading of Resolution COR 2013-14A, Resolution to Change Membership to the Commission on Research (COR) – B. Huckle reported the resolution is to add three members to the COR to provide governance representation for research faculty. One representative to COR will come from the postdoctoral associate rank nominated by persons in that rank and appointed by the President. Two representatives to COR will come from research faculty ranks as defined in the Virginia Tech Faculty Handbook (excluding postdoctoral associates) nominated by persons in those ranks and appointed by the President.

V. Adjournment: 3:46pm