Commission on Student Affairs

Thursday, March 20, 2014 3:30-5:00 p.m. Squires Student Center – Brush Mountain Room

Present:

Shaimaa Abdallah, Maria Andrade, Brent Ashley, Cathye Betzel, Matthew Chan, Claire Childress, Adil Dittmer, Noha ElSherbiny, Jean-Luc Ford, Lauren Surface – designee for Monika Gibson, Kylie Gilbert, Jacob Grohs, Mary Ann Lewis, Peter Nettekoven, Patty Perillo, Greg Purdy, Caroline Sapyta, Lester Schonberger, Anna Hawthorne – designee for Robert Sebek, David Coravati – designee for Jay Tucker, Nick Warrington, Erica Wood

Absent:

Christiana Connolly, Morgan Esters, Vaishnav Krishnan, Margaret McQuain

Guests:

Joseph Edens, Ashley Francis, Michael Goodwin, Jaime Joslin, Jonathan Manz, Matt Pagnotti, Mohammed Seyam, Angela Simmons

I. Call to Order

Dr. Patty Perillo called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. welcoming the group to today's meeting. She advised that Mr. Lester Schonberger will chair the meeting due to Ms. Kylie Gilbert being a representative to the Board of Visitors candidate and to avoid a conflict of interest.

II. Welcome from Chair

Mr. Lester Schonberger called the meeting to order, welcomed all members and guests, and proceeded with introductions from everyone in attendance.

III. Guest Speakers

a. Representative to the Board of Visitors Candidate Introductions -

Final candidates to serve the Board of Visitors as an undergraduate or graduate representative were present today to provide a brief introduction. They were Kylie Gilbert, Austin Larrowe, Jonathan Manz, Ashley Francis, and Mohammed Seyam. Bijan Peters was not present as he is currently studying abroad in Switzerland. Mr. Schonberger read an introduction that he provided.

IV. Commissions/Committees Updates

a. Budget Board Working Committee – Lester Schonberger

Mr. Matt Chan met with the Budget Board Working Committee to review and make revisions to the student activity fee funding procedures. The committee identified several areas of concern that need to be addressed to the CSA: nominate representative to sit on the Student Budget Board (SBB), recommend representative report to CSA due to its oversight of SBB, identify meeting/retreat for Monica Hunter to attend and provide an overview of the purpose of SBB, and create workshop to educate student organizations on funding procedures.

b. CEOD Representation – Nick Warrington

Mr. Nick Warrington told the group he was unable to attend CEOD this semester and asked if any CSA member would be able to attend. Mr. Matt Chan indicated he can attend. Mr. Warrington advised him to connect with Marwa Abdel Latif in the Graduate Life Center.

c. CEOD Legislation – Marwa Abdel Latif

A last minute request was made to postpone this agenda item to the next meeting after the agenda was already printed.

V. Old Business

a. Dining Hall Receipt Legislation – Brent Ashley

Mr. Brent Ashley read the Dining Hall Receipt Legislation Resolution. Mr. Schonberger motioned for discussion. Mr. Ashley moved to accept the resolution. Ms. Erica Wood seconded. The resolution was accepted. The group was advised the resolution may need to be reviewed by internal audit. Mr. Jean-Luc Ford motioned to vote on passing the resolution. Ms. Wood seconded. The resolution was passed.

VI. New Business

a. Hokie Handbook/Series 8000 Policies – Angela Simmons

Ms. Jaime Joslin, Assistant Director of Leadership Development Programs for the Division of Student Affairs, thanked the commission for allowing her to attend the meeting and explained her role in the Series 8000 Policies. Ms. Joslin continued with the first reading of all changes for the following policies:

Policy 8005: University Staff Support for Student Programming Organizations (*Title change to University Staff Support for Organizations with Significant University Interest*)

Policy 8011: Establishing and Maintaining a University Student Life Program (USLP) (Addition of Staff Support Language)

Policy 8012: Establishing and Maintaining a University Chartered Student Organization (UCSO) (Addition of Staff Support Language)

Policy 8014: Establishing and Maintaining an Extended Campus Student Organization (ECSO) (Addition of Blacksburg Campus Student Budget Board Guidelines)

Policy 8220: Security Requirements for Events Sponsored by Student Organizations (*Clarification of Security Personnel*)

Ms. Angela Simmons, Director of Student Conduct for the Division of Student Affairs, thanked the commission for allowing her to attend the meeting and explained her role with the Hokie Handbook. Ms. Simmons distributed a handout on Adaptable Conflict Resolution and continued with the first reading of changes to the Hokie Handbook.

Ms. Joslin and Ms. Simmons will attend the next commission meeting on Thursday, March 27, 2014, for the second reading of their resolution changes.

b. LGBTA Constitution Approval- Caroline Sapyta, Matt Pagnotti

In the interest of time, a motion was passed to carry the LGBTA Constitutional Revisions to the next meeting.

VII. Announcements

Mr. Brent Ashley announced SGA elections will take place next week, March 26-28, 2014.

Ms. Caroline Sapyta invited CSA members to hear Transgender activist Ryan Sallans to speak tonight at 8:00pm in Old Dominion Ballroom at Squires Student Center.

Ms. Kylie Gilbert reminded members that the Residence Hall Federation is holding a royale/casino-themed fundraiser on Saturday, March 22, 8:00-11:00pm in support of Relay for Life.

Ms. Noha ElSherbiny reminded members of The International Street Fair on Sunday, April 27. They are in need of performers and volunteers.

Ms. Claire Childress stated Kelly McBride is the keynote speaker for the Women Empowering Women seminar on March 27, 6:00-8:00pm at Smith Career Center

Mr. Adil Dittmer announced the Overton R. Johnson Step Show will be held on March 21 at 7:00pm in Burruss Auditorium. Tickets are \$7 in advance, \$10 at the door.

VIII. Adjournment

With no further announcements or business, Mr. Lester Schonberger, acting chair, entertained a motion to adjourn; Mr. Greg Purdy made the motion and Ms. Maria Andrade seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 5:05 p.m.