Commission on Student Affairs

Thursday, April 23, 2015 3:30-5:00 PM Squires Student Center – Brush Mountain Room

Present:

Tuna Shankar, Matthew Chan, Joseph Edens, Jackie Fisher, Lauren Surface, Morgan Sykes- designee for Austin Larrowe, Jake Tully- designee for Elizabeth Lazor, Greg Purdy, Daniel Ridenour-designee for Eric Wetzel, Patty Perillo, Rudney Danquah, Robert Sebek, Kaleigh Leal, Susan Anderson, Morgan Sykes- designee for Austin Larrowe, Ricardo Zalles Reyes, Mary Ann Lewis, Ashley Francis, Cathye Betzel, Jean-Luc Ford, Alicia Cohen

Absent:

Erica Bassuk, Austin Dickey, Claire Childress, Sapna Singh, Ethan Poole

Guests:

Kyle Anderson, Patrick Finn, Max Frischman

I. Call to Order and Approval of the Agenda

Mr. Joseph Edens, chair, called the meeting to order at 3:38 p.m. welcoming the group to today's meeting and reviewing the agenda items for discussion. Mr. Joe Edens asked for a motion to adopt the agenda; it was moved by Mr. Robert Sebek, seconded by Mr. Greg Purdy, and approved unanimously.

II. Presentations

No presentations offered.

III. Unfinished Business

a. Student Budget Board Policy Changes

Mr. Greg Purdy, Chair of the Student Budget Board Policy Subcommittee, provided a resolution and amended version of the Student Budget Board Student Activity Fee Funding Policies and Procedures. Mr. Purdy and members of the committee fielded questions regarding the proposal and will be eligible for a vote at the next stated meeting.

b. Multicultural Greek Council Constitution Changes

Ms. Kaleigh Leal, CSA Greek Representative, offered the changes for a second reading and the changes were voted on and passed unanimously.

IV. New Business

a. Student Budget Board Annual Funding Appeal

The Latino Association of Student Organizations submitted an appeal of their 2015 – 2016 annual funding and the appeal was forwarded to the Commission by a formed subcommittee pursuant to policy. Mr. Robert Sebek, Chair of the Appeal Subcommittee, and Mr. Max Frishman, Vice Chair of the Student Budget Board, fielded questions regarding the appeal. The appeal was approved with 9 in favor, 8 not in favor, and 1 abstention. The Chair served as the tiebreaking vote.

b. Vice Chair Nominations

Nominations for Vice Chair for the 2015 – 2016 Commission on Student Affairs was held with Pat Finn and Morgan Sykes being nominated and accepting nomination.

V. Commission/Committees/Sub-Committee Updates

No updates offered.

VI. Announcements

No announcements offered.

VII. Adjournment

With no further announcements or business, Mr. Joe Edens, chair, entertained a motion to adjourn; Mr. Greg Purdy motioned and Mr. Matt Chan seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 4:57 p.m.