# **Commission on Student Affairs**

Thursday, April 30, 2015 3:30-5:00 PM Squires Student Center – Brush Mountain Room

### Present:

Tuna Shankar, Matthew Chan, Joseph Edens, Jackie Fisher, Lauren Surface, Morgan Sykes- designee for Austin Larrowe, Jake Tully- designee for Elizabeth Lazor, Greg Purdy, Daniel Ridenour-designee for Eric Wetzel, Patty Perillo, Rudney Danquah, Robert Sebek, Kaleigh Leal, Susan Anderson, Morgan Sykes- designee for Austin Larrowe, Ricardo Zalles Reyes, Mary Ann Lewis, Ashley Francis, Cathye Betzel, Jean-Luc Ford, Alicia Cohen, Claire Childress

#### Absent:

Erica Bassuk, Austin Dickey, Sapna Singh, Ethan Poole, Noha Elsherbiny

#### **Guests:**

Cordel Faulk, Chelsea Corkins, Max Frishman, Morgan Sykes, Kyle Anderson, Nicole Nguyen, Jaime Williams, Angela Simmons, Steve Burrell

# I. Call to Order and Approval of the Agenda

Mr. Joseph Edens, chair, called the meeting to order at 3:34 p.m. welcoming the group to today's meeting and reviewing the agenda items for discussion. Mr. Joe Edens asked for a motion to adopt the agenda; it was moved by Mr. Daniel Ridenour seconded by Mr. Matt Chan, and approved unanimously.

## II. Presentations

a. Dr. Cordel Faulk, Virginia Tech Board of Visitors

Dr. Cordel Faulk, Member of the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors, joined the Commission to ask and answer questions with members and quests.

## III. Unfinished Business

a. Student Budget Board Policy Changes

Mr. Greg Purdy, Chair of the Student Budget Board Policy Subcommittee, fielded questions regarding a resolution and amended version of the Student Budget Board Student Activity Fee Funding Policies and Procedures. A motion to vote was achieved and the resolution was approved unanimously.

b. Vice Chair Elections

Vice Chair nominee Pat Finn withdrew his nomination and Mr. Matt Chan was nominated and accepted that nomination. Mr. Matt Chan and Ms. Morgan

Sykes presented to the commission and Mr. Matt Chan was elected by majority vote of the commission.

### IV. New Business

No new business was offered.

# V. Commission/Committees/Sub-Committee Updates

Mr. Steve Burrell, Chair of the Student Budget Board, and Mr. Max Frishman, Vice Chair of the Student Budget Board, provided an updated allocation in response to the approved appeal from the previous meeting.

### VI. Announcements

Members and guests were invited to join the commission after the meeting for an end of the year celebration in the Jamestown Room.

# VII. Adjournment

With no further announcements or business, Mr. Joe Edens, chair, entertained a motion to adjourn; Mr. Greg Purdy motioned and Mr. Matt Chan seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 4:50 p.m.