Minutes

Commission on Staff Policies and Affairs

November 29, 2011 ~ 2:00 p.m . ~ 210 Burruss

Present: Matthew Chan, Carolyn Dudding, Velva Groover, Hal Irvin, Teresa

Lyons, Allison Rubio, Wyatt Sasser, Judy Taylor, Sue Teel, Amy

Tunison, Lisa Wilkes, Connie Wilkinson

Absent: Jay Crone, Michael Goodwin, Judy Jones, Robin McCall-Miller,

Richard Sorensen

Guest: Paul Knox, Frances Keene

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 2:02 p.m. The agenda was approved as presented. The minutes from the last meeting on October 25, 2011 were approved electronically.

Update on Long Range Plan

Dr. Paul Knox and Frances Keene, from the Office of Long Range Planning, gave an update on the long range planning process. In March 2011, Dr. Steger appointed a Presidential Task Force, headed by Dr. Knox, to develop a strategic plan for 2012-2018. Dr. Steger asked that they re-evaluate what kind of an institution we need to be in order to be successful in the future. The Task Force is comprised of staff, AP faculty, TR faculty, and a student advisory committee. The group has been divided into five sub-committees. Each sub-committee was assigned the task of working on an executive summary based on the following topics: Tomorrow's Knowledge, Tomorrow's Scholars, Tomorrow's Leaders, Tomorrow's University, and Envisioning Excellence. Drafts of the executive summaries are posted on the Office of Long Range Planning's website at www.longrangeplan.vt.edu. The summaries will be combined into a Strategic Plan draft by mid-February 2012 and presented to the Board of Visitors in March 2012.

Staff Career Achievement Award Process

Hal Irvin discussed the process for the Staff Career Achievement Award, and a handout of the award timeline was provided. Announcements will go out to VTNews in January and February with specifics on the nomination process. Nominations will be accepted during February, and in mid-March, the committee will determine up to five award winners. Winners will be recognized at the Faculty/Staff Awards Dinner.

Volunteers Needed

Sue Teel asked for volunteers for the Staff Career Achievement Award and the James D. McComas Staff Leadership Award selection committees. Carolyn Dudding, Velva Groover, Teresa Lyons, Allison Rubio, Sue Teel, and Amy Tunison volunteered for the Staff Career Achievement Award. Teresa Lyons, Wyatt Sasser (tentative), Sue Teel, and Judy Taylor volunteered for the James D. McComas Staff Leadership Award.

Update on Proposed Leave Reform

Hal Irvin indicated that Human Resources posted information on the HR website regarding the state's proposed leave reform and provided a website on which employees could leave feedback. So far, 350 comments have been submitted from campus staff and faculty with the majority of those comments indicating opposition to the leave reform proposal. Dr. Ralph Byers, Executive Director of Government Relations, will be meeting with the subcommittee that was formed to study the proposal and several other staff who provided their names when posting comments. He will be listening to feedback from the employees so he can share that information with the General Assembly.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:04 p.m. There will be no meeting in December. The next meeting will be January 24, 2012 from 2:00-3:30 in 325 Burruss.

Respectfully Submitted,

Melissa Ball CSPA Support Staff