Minutes

Commission on Staff Policies and Affairs

April 24, 2012 ~ 2:00 p.m . ~ 325 Burruss

Present: Hal Irvin, Teresa Lyons, Wyatt Sasser, Richard Sorensen, Judy

Taylor, Sue Teel, Connie Wilkinson

Absent: Matthew Chan, Jay Crone, Carolyn Dudding, Michael Goodwin,

Velva Groover, Judy Jones, Tom Kaloupek, Robin McCall-Miller,

Allison Rubio, Amy Tunison

Guest: Dan Cook

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 2:05 p.m. The agenda was approved as presented. The minutes from the last meeting on March 27, 2012 were approved electronically.

Chair for Next Year

Sue Teel introduced Dan Cook, the Staff Senate Vice President Elect, who will be the 2012-2013 chair of CSPA.

Goals for Commission for Next Year

Members were asked if there were any other suggestions for goals for the upcoming year in addition to the three that were suggested at the last meeting. The previous suggestions were to highlight staff in new ways, accommodate the hearing impaired with information that is presented in Podcasts, and find ways to better include off-site staff. Other suggestions were to invite the chair of the Benefits Committee to discuss if more can be done for non-student wage employees, to invite Debbie Freed and Steve Mouras to discuss alternative transportation and future parking costs, and to explore what benefit staff are receiving from the growing campus infrastructure.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:37 p.m. This was the final meeting of the 2011-2012 academic year. Once the schedule is determined for the upcoming year, an email notice will be sent to members.

Respectfully Submitted,

Melissa Ball CSPA Support Staff