Minutes Commission on Staff Policies and Affairs

November 27, 2012 ~ 2:00 p.m . ~ 210 Burruss

- **Present:** Mina Choi, Mary Christian, Dan Cook, Jay Crone, Carolyne Dudding, Kim Dulaney, Velva Groover, Hal Irvin, Denise Jones for Richard Sorensen, Tom Kaloupek, Teresa Lyons, Wyatt Sasser, Mallory Taylor, Amy Tunison
- Absent: Judy Alford with notice, Judy Jones, Allison Rubio
- Guest: Laura Neff-Henderson, Kirk Wehner

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 2:03 p.m. The agenda was approved as presented. The minutes from the last meeting on October 23, 2012 were approved electronically.

Employee Awards and Recognition Programs

Kirk Wehner, Director of Compensation and Performance Management, gave a presentation regarding the university's Employee Awards and Recognition Program which is covered under policy 4335. The program allows for a variety of formal and informal methods to recognize employees. Employees can be recognized at the university and state level. Awards can be monetary, non-monetary, recognition leave, or a recognition event. The university currently has approximately 160 approved programs in place. Kirk encourages all departments to make recognition a regular part of their management philosophy.

Efforts to Highlight Employees

Laura Neff-Henderson, HR Communications Manager, gave a presentation on her efforts to highlight employees. She began by pointing out that the sole purpose of the Daily Email is to serve as an employee newsletter. There are several avenues being used to highlight staff and AP faculty including the following: HR homepage spotlight rotation, extraordinary employee series, faculty/staff employee of the week, news releases, and Hal's HR happenings blog. Staff and AP faculty are also highlighted in articles that promote their service to community. In addition to highlighting employees, Laura is also working to expand HR brand messaging by promoting VA Tech as a great place to work and working to expand HR's visual identity through its website, brochures, and recruiting material.

Committee Volunteers

Dan Cook asked for addition volunteers for the McComas Leadership Award Committee and the Staff Career Achievement Award Committee. Tom Kaloupek volunteered for the McComas Leadership Award Committee, and Amy Tunison volunteered to serve on the Staff Career Achievement Award Committee. Following are the finalized committee lists.

- McComas Leadership Award Committee Tom Kaloupek, Wyatt Sasser, Amy Tunison
- Staff Career Achievement Award Committee Judy Alford, Carolyn Dudding, Velva Groover, Teresa Lyons, Amy Tunison

Anyone still interested in volunteering should let Dan Cook know as soon as possible since committee meetings will begin after the first of the year.

Other Business

Since several members have approached Dan Cook about being out on December 18, which is the next scheduled meeting day, he proposed that the December meeting be cancelled. Everyone agreed this was a good idea since it is so close to the winter break.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:10 p.m. The next meeting will be January 22, 2013 from 2:00-3:30 in 325 Burruss.

Respectfully Submitted,

Melissa Ball CSPA Support Staff