Energy and Sustainability Committee Minutes March 30, 2009 2:00 – 3:00 p.m. 210 Burruss Hall

Present: Michael Coleman – Chair, Barry Key for Dwight Shelton, Scott Hurst, Denny Cochrane, Rick Johnson, Martha Wirt for Bruce Ferguson, Ben Myers, Rob Lowe, Madeline Schreiber, Sean McGinnis, Annie Pearce, Tom Tucker, Mike Cutlip, Jack Davis, Brian Perkins, Sara Murrill, Angella De Soto, Kristina Hartman, and Sandra Mullins (Administrative Assistant)

Absent: Sherwood Wilson, John Randolph

Virginia Tech Climate Action Commitment & Sustainability Plan Subcommittee and Guests: Richard Hirsh, Debby Freed for Steve Mouras, Scott Reed, Mary Seyler, Lylah Shelor, and John Beach

Call Meeting to Order and Welcome Guests

Mike Coleman called the joint meeting of the Energy and Sustainability Committee and the Virginia Tech Climate Action Commitment & Sustainability Plan Subcommittee to order.

Adoption of Agenda

The Committee approved the agenda as proposed.

Approval of the February 23, 2009 Minutes

The February 23, 2009 Minutes were approved by the Committee.

Old Business

1) <u>VTCAC Modifications</u>

Mike Coleman reviewed the modifications that were made to the VTCAC.

New Business

1) Board of Visitors Member

Mike Coleman announced Kristina Hartman, undergraduate committee representative for the Student Government Association, has been selected as an undergraduate student to serve on the Board of Visitors next year. She was congratulated.

2) <u>Commission on University Support Resolution 2008-09C</u>, "The Virginia Tech Climate Action Commitment" First Reading to the University Council, March 30

The VTCAC was approved on March 19 by the Commission on University Support and will go before the University Council today, March 30, for the first reading. The Committee members were encouraged if their schedule permits to attend the University Council meeting. Mike Coleman in John Randolph's absence will provide comments on the VTCAC.

3) VTCAC Feedback from President Steger

Mike Coleman asked Angie De Soto to brief the Committee on President Steger's comments on the VTCAC. Angie De Soto was pleased with the President's comments and his dedication to sustainability. He suggests exploring a limited number of early initiatives to start with and then dealing with the long term goals. The success of the early initiatives will demonstrate commitment and at the same time save the university utility costs. President Steger will read the VTCAC thoroughly and get back with his comments for next year's initiatives.

4) ESCo Update

Mike Coleman informed the Committee that three ESCo firms have been interviewed. Five buildings, McBryd Hall (academics), Hahn Hall (research), Pritchard Hall (residential), Dietrick Hall (dining), and Cassell Coliseum/Jamerson(athletics), and the power plant have been chosen for recommendations to save energy, utility cost, and emissions. The ESCos will guarantee 85% of their proposal. There were some questions/discussions regarding funding and Mike Coleman explained that ESCOs would not do the financing, that there would be no monies out of pocket for Virginia Tech, but that treasury funds would be used.

5) Earth Week 2009

Angie De Soto distributed a handout on Earth Week 2009 which will be held April 19-25, 2009. Sustainability awareness will be emphasized through fairs, speakers, trainings, and showcases. Dr. Steger, Mike Coleman, and Denny Cochrane have been invited to speak at the VT Sustainability Support Rally on Wednesday, April 22. A website will be developed.

6) Open Discussion

- a. Annie Pearce is working on the Common Book initiative. There is a shortlist of five books which includes two books about sustainability, the *Ecological Intelligence* by Bryan Walsh and *The Creation* by E.O. Wilson. Annie Pearce will forward the first three chapters of the *Ecological Intelligence* to the members for their review, and more information can be found at http://www.time.com/time/specials/packages/article/0,28804,1884779_1884782_1884776,00.html. There are some copies of *The Creation* available.
- b. Rick Johnson informed the Committee that Dining now has local organic cage-free eggs from Nelson County. Also the composting is working well and Dining is hopeful to overcome some hurdles and include all their facilities. Denny Cochrane applauded Rick Johnson for his efforts to be responsive to the students' desire.

Future Meetings

The next meeting will be held in the Presidents Board Room, 210 Burruss Hall, from 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm on April 29, 2009 (this is a change). If another meeting is needed, it will be on May 18, 2009. The members can be thinking about initiatives for next year.

Adjourn

It was moved and seconded to adjourn.