# Energy and Sustainability Committee Minutes April 29, 2009 2:00 – 3:00 p.m. 210 Burruss Hall

**Present:** Michael Coleman – Chair, Sherwood Wilson, Melinda West for Dwight Shelton, Lucinda Jennings for Scott Hurst, Denny Cochrane, Bruce Ferguson, Ben Myers, Rob Lowe, John Randolph, Sean McGinnis, Tom Tucker, Mike Cutlip, Brian Perkins, Sara Murrill, Angella De Soto, Kristina Hartman, and Sandra Mullins (Administrative Assistant)

Absent: Jack Davis, Rick Johnson, Annie Pearce, Madeline Schreiber

Virginia Tech Climate Action Commitment & Sustainability Plan Subcommittee and Guests: Richard Hirsh, Steve Mouras, Erik Olsen, Scott Reed, Lylah Shelor, John Beach, Bryce Carter, Kara Dodson, Elena Dulys-Nusbaum, Brianna Farr, Alex Funk, Bo Hart, Shamim Javed, Bryce Jorgensen, Shane McCarty, Lyndsay McKeever, and Jackie Pontious

# **Call Meeting to Order and Welcome Guests**

Mike Coleman called the joint meeting of the Energy and Sustainability Committee and the Virginia Tech Climate Action Commitment & Sustainability Plan Subcommittee to order. There were many student guests.

### **Adoption of Agenda**

The Committee approved the agenda as proposed.

# Approval of the March 30, 2009 Minutes

The March 30, 2009 Minutes were approved by the Committee.

#### **Old Business**

1) Earth Week 2009 Feedback

Angie De Soto informed the Committee that Earth Week 2009 was very successful. The student group Coalition for Campus Sustainability was responsible for the planning and implementation of the events held from April 19 through April 25, 2009, and they did an outstanding job.

### **New Business**

1) "Shout Out for Sustainability" Forum Feedback

Angie De Soto distributed the final recommendations from the "Shout Out for Sustainability" Forum held on April 14, 2009, and highlighted several items. Over 70 people attended to include university professors and administrators, town administrators, and citizens. The final recommendations are provided as an attachment. John Randolph thanked Angie for organizing this initiative.

2) Summer Student Sustainability Initiatives

Angie De Soto previewed a number of student sustainability activities that will be initiated and/or explored this summer to include: a "Sustainable Living Guide" for students, a "Green Purchasing Guide" for students and parents, the freshmen orientation program will feature sustainability, the introduction of a student run farm coordinated by the Sustainable Food Corps, numerous dining facilities initiatives such as reusable

bags/mugs/to-go containers, and reusable bags will be introduced by the University Bookstore during freshmen orientation. She has prepared a spreadsheet that includes a complete list of all ongoing student sustainability activities.

3) The Commission on University Support Resolution 2008-2009C, "The Virginia Tech Climate Action Commitment (VTCAC) Resolution" was approved by the University Council and President Steger on April 22, 2009.

Mike Coleman announced that the University Council approved "The Virginia Tech Climate Action Commitment on April 22 (Earth Day). The Resolution will be presented to the full Board of Visitors for action at their upcoming meeting on June 1, 2009. John Randolph, Chair of the Virginia Tech Climate Action Commitment and Sustainability Plan Subcommittee, offered his congratulation to both the VTCAC&SP Subcommittee and the full Energy and Sustainability Committee for their outstanding work in the development of the VTCAC Resolution and accompanying Sustainability Plan, and in support during the university governance review process. The Committee praised John Randolph for his dedication and leadership, and held a brief celebration at the conclusion of the formal meeting.

# 4) VTCAC Resolution Implementation

The Committee discussed the challenges ahead for implementing the VTCAC. Mike Coleman informed the Committee that he has already instituted changes in Facilities Services to include establishing an Office of Sustainability. This office will report to newly appointed Chief of Staff, Jim McCoy, it will consist of the Sustainability Program Manager, the Energy Manager and a Graduate Assistant, and it will be responsible to report, track and benchmark the sustainable initiatives. To reduce energy consumption, Mike Coleman announced Facilities Services will soon implement a program to shutdown air handler units during non-peak hours (10:00pm to 6:00am). Rob Lowe stressed the importance of having accurate greenhouse gas (GHG) measurements. A student commented that the university has made significant advances in sustainability during the last four years, and that it is exciting to witness the student body voices being heard as they work with the university administration.

# **Recognize E&S Committee Members Completing Service**

The members whose terms are expiring in 2009 were recognized and thanked for their service. They are: Bruce Ferguson, Sean McGinnis, Brian Perkins, Sara Murrill, Angella De Soto, and Kristina Hartman.

#### **Future Meetings**

A motion was moved and approved that this would be the last meeting this academic year.

#### Adjourn

It was moved and seconded to adjourn.