University Council Minutes March 21, 2011 3:00 PM 1045 Pamplin Hall

Present: Charles Steger, (Presiding), Richard Benson, Jeb Stewart for Earving Blythe, Lay Nam Chang, Jack Davis, Karen DePauw, Elizabeth Flanagan, Jennifer Hodgson, Karen Jones, William Lewis, Mark McNamee, Kim O'Rourke, Rachel Holloway for Sue Ott Rowlands, Dwight Shelton, Richard Sorensen, Ed Spencer, Tom Tillar, Tyler Walters, Sherwood Wilson, Paul Winistorfer, Carolyn Copenheaver, Randy Wynn for Jesus de la Garza, Ross Edmonds, Jan Helge Bøhn, Amy Hogan, Steve McMullin, Leslie O'Brien, Deborah Smith, Sue Teel, Jim Kuypers, Joe Merola, Joyce Rothschild, Eric Vance, Danny Axsom, Megan O'Neill Fisher for Sheila Carter-Tod, Marion Ehrich, Debra Salbador, Bob Sturges, Judy Alford, Jean Brickey, Dan Cook, Teresa Lyons, Stacey Poertner, Dave Shuster, France Belanger, Justin Graves, Karen Poff, Patricia Smith, Patrick Tomlin, Amanda Cronin Rumore, Michelle McLeese, Mojtaba Taiebat, C. Taylor Quicke for Scott Bennett, Bo Hart, Emily Wilkinson, Bruce Pencek for Mike Ellerbrock, Maxine Lyons

Absent John Dooley (with notice), Alan Grant, Robert Walters, Daniel Wubah (with notice), Nathan Lavinka, Bryan Cloyd, Susanna Rinehart, Lewis Wasserman, Dave Dugas, Tom Hammett, David Vaughan, Lori Anne Kirk, Christal Bacon, Wayne Scales, Jeff Chuang, Greer Kelly, Charles Petty, Deepu George (with notice), Shane McCarty

Guests: Michael Cardman, Jack Finney, Natalie Hart, Mary Ann Lewis, Ellen Plummer, Jason Thweatt

Dr. Steger called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. A quorum was present.

1. Adoption of Agenda

A motion was made and seconded to adopt the agenda. The motion carried.

2. Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of March 14, 2011

Dr. Steger noted that these minutes have been voted on electronically and can be publicly accessed on the Governance Information System on the Web (<u>http://www.governance.vt.edu</u>).

3. New Business

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies

Resolution CUSP 2010-11C Resolution to Revise the Constitution of the Undergraduate Honor System

Dr. Steve McMullin presented the resolution for first reading. Dr. McMullin informed the council members that this resolution is for standard updates to the Undergraduate Honor System.

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies

Resolution CUSP 2010-11D Resolution to Approve the Bachelor of Science Degree in Meteorology

Dr. Steve McMullin presented the resolution for first reading. This resolution will allow a new Bachelor of Science Degree in Meteorology which will be the only such degree in the State of Virginia.

3. Old Business

Commission on Staff Policies and Affairs Resolution CSPA 2010-11A Ms. Sue Teel presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed.

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies

Resolution CUSP 2010-11B Pass/Fail Policy Grad Option for Undergraduates (Revised Policy No. 204)

Dr. Steve McMullin presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion to approve was seconded. This resolution changes the existing policy that students may apply the pass/fail grading option from ten percent of the required hours for graduation completed to a maximum of twelve credit hours. There was lengthy discussion about the impact of the proposed change on transfer students and those in five-year programs. A suggestion was made to change the policy to state that the pass/fail option can be either ten percent or twelve credit hours, whichever is greater, for those in a five-year program. This way, no student would be limited to fewer than twelve pass/fail credit hours. Dean Jack Davis moved to amend the resolution to add that "students in five-year programs will be allowed a pass/fail option of either twelve credit hours or ten percent of the required hours for graduation, whichever is greater." The motion was seconded. A vote was taken on the amendment and passed. Council then voted on the resolution as amended, and it passed.

4. Announcement of Approval and Posting of Commission Minutes

These minutes have been voted on electronically and will be posted on the University web (http://www.governance.vt.edu). Note that the purpose of voting on Commission minutes is to accept them for filing. University Council By-laws require that policy items be brought forward in resolution form for University Council action.

- Commission on Faculty Affairs February 18, 2011
- Commission on Research February 9, 2011
- Commission on Student Affairs March 3, 2011
- Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies March 14, 2011

7. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 3:30 p.m.