University Council Minutes April 4, 2011 3:00 PM 1045 Pamplin Hall

Present: Mark McNamee, (Presiding), Richard Benson, Jeb Stewart for Earving Blythe, Lay Nam Chang, Jack Davis, Karen DePauw, John Dooley, Elizabeth Flanagan, Susan Sumner for Alan Grant, Jennifer Hodgson, Karen Jones, Kim O'Rourke, Sue Ott Rowlands, Dwight Shelton, Richard Sorensen, Cynthia Bonner for Ed Spencer, Tom Tillar, Kevin Davy for Robert Walters, Sherwood Wilson, Paul Winistorfer, Daniel Wubah, Jesus de la Garza, Ross Edmonds, Jan Helge Bøhn, Amy Hogan, Deborah Smith, Nathan Lavinka, Rachel Holloway for Steve McMullin, Leslie O'Brien, Bryan Cloyd, Jim Kuypers, Joe Merola, Eric Vance, Sheila Carter-Tod, Marion Ehrich, Bob Sturges, Judy Alford, Jean Brickey, Dan Cook, Teresa Lyons, Stacey Poertner, Dave Shuster, France Belanger, Justin Graves, Cristin Sprenger for Karen Poff, Patricia Smith, Patrick Tomlin, Amanda Cronin Rumore, Michelle McLeese, Bo Hart, Charles Petty, Maxine Lyons

Absent Charles Steger (with notice), William Lewis, Tyler Walters, Carolyn Copenheaver, Sue Teel, Susanna Rinehart, Joyce Rothschild, Lewis Wasserman, Danny Axsom, Dave Dugas, Tom Hammett, Debra Salbador (with notice), David Vaughan, Lori Anne Kirk, Christal Bacon, Wayne Scales, Mojtaba Taiebat, Scott Bennett, Jeff Chuang, Greer Kelly, Emily Wilkinson, Mike Ellerbrock, Deepu George, Shane McCarty

Guests: Bill Carstensen, Shelia Collins, Jack Finney, Natalie Hart, Todd Ogle, Dean Stauffer, Kirk Wehner

Dr. McNamee called the meeting to order at 3:01 p.m. A quorum was present.

1. Adoption of Agenda

A motion was made and seconded to adopt the agenda. The motion carried.

2. Announcement

Dr. McNamee announced that the new student representatives to the Board of Visitors were selected at the March meeting. Ms. Michelle McLeese will be the Graduate Student Representative and Mr. Matt Banfield will be the Undergraduate Student Representative for the 2011-2012 academic year.

3. Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of March 21, 2011

Dr. McNamee noted that these minutes have been voted on electronically and can be publicly accessed on the Governance Information System on the Web (<u>http://www.governance.vt.edu</u>).

4. New Business

Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty Affairs

Resolution CAPFA 2010-11A Resolution for Change in Membership of the Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty Affairs

Ms. Amy Hogan presented the resolution for first reading. Ms. Hogan explained that the resolution is to update the representation on the Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty Affairs (CAPFA) to more accurately reflect the representation of the Administrative and Professional (A/P) faculty on campus. There was a resolution last year to take effect the coming fall which also looked at representation on CAPFA. It was determined that numbers of the staff shifting to A/P faculty under restructuring and the number of A/P faculty who retired this past summer would cause an overrepresentation of general administration and an underrepresentation of academic support areas on CAPFA as it currently stands. The current resolution will change the membership of CAPFA to three representatives each from academic support areas and general administration areas. This will more proportionally reflect the population of A/P faculty across the university.

5. Old Business

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies

Resolution CUSP 2010-11C Resolution to Revise the Constitution of the Undergraduate Honor System

Dr. Rachel Holloway presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed.

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies

Resolution CUSP 2010-11D Resolution to Approve the Bachelor of Science Degree in Meteorology

Dr. Dean Stauffer presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed. A question was raised as to whether there would be a minor in meteorology at some point in the future. Dr. Carstensen, head of the Geography Department, replied that offering a minor in meteorology in the future is being considered.

6. Announcement of Approval and Posting of Commission Minutes

These minutes have been voted on electronically and will be posted on the University web (http://www.governance.vt.edu). Note that the purpose of voting on Commission minutes is to accept them for filing. University Council By-laws require that policy items be brought forward in resolution form for University Council action.

- Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty Affairs March 9, 2011
- Commission on Graduate Studies and Policies March 2, 2011
- Commission on Outreach and International Affairs February 10, 2011
- Commission on Student Affairs March 3, 2011

7. For Information Only

Minutes of the University Advisory council on Strategic Budgeting and Planning February 24, 2011

8. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 3:08 p.m.