University Council Minutes May 2, 2011 3:00 PM 1045 Pamplin Hall

Present: Charles Steger, (Presiding), Glenda Scales for Richard Benson, Jeb Stewart for Earving Blythe, Lay Nam Chang, Jack Davis, Karen DePauw, John Dooley, Elizabeth Flanagan, Susan Sumner for Alan Grant, Jennifer Hodgson, Karen Jones, William Lewis, Mark McNamee, Kim O'Rourke, Sue Ott Rowlands, Dwight Shelton, Richard Sorensen, Ed Spencer, Tom Tillar, Robert Walters, Tyler Walters, Sherwood Wilson, Paul Winistorfer, Daniel Wubah, Carolyn Copenheaver, Jesus de la Garza, Ross Edmonds, Jan Helge Bøhn, Nathan Lavinka, Leslie O'Brien, Deborah Smith, Sue Teel, Bryan Cloyd, Jim Kuypers, Joe Merola, Eric Vance, Sheila Carter-Tod, Marion Ehrich, Bob Sturges, Judy Alford, Jean Brickey, Teresa Lyons, France Belanger, Justin Graves, Karen Poff, Amanda Cronin Rumore, Michelle McLeese, C. Taylor Quicke for Scott Bennett, Bo Hart, Charles Petty, Emily Wilkinson, Deepu George

Absent Amy Hogan, Steve McMullin, Susanna Rinehart, Joyce Rothschild, Lewis Wasserman, Danny Axsom, Dave Dugas, Tom Hammett, Debra Salbador, David Vaughan, Dan Cook (with notice), Lori Anne Kirk, Stacey Poertner (with notice), Dave Shuster (with notice), Christal Bacon, Wayne Scales, Patricia Smith, Patrick Tomlin, Mojtaba Taiebat, Scott Bennett, Jeff Chuang, Greer Kelly, Mike Ellerbrock, Maxine Lyons, Shane McCarty

Guests: Jack Finney, Rodd Hall, Natalie Hart, Bill Huckle, Bill Knocke, April Myers, Todd Ogle, Kirk Wehner

Dr. Steger called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. A quorum was present.

1. Adoption of Agenda

A motion was made and seconded to adopt the agenda. The motion carried.

2. Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of April 18, 2011

Dr. Steger noted that these minutes have been voted on electronically and can be publicly accessed on the Governance Information System on the Web (http://www.governance.vt.edu).

3. New Business

Dr. Steger explained that the two items of new business require an affirmative vote of ¾ of the membership present in order to waive the first reading.

Commission on Student Affairs

Resolution CSA 2010-11B

Resolution Amending the Constitution of the Graduate Student Assembly (GSA)

Resolution CSA 2010-11C

Resolution Amending the Constitution of the Student Government Association (SGA)

Mr. Nathan Lavinka made a motion for first reading and action (commonly referred to as "waiver of first reading") for these two resolutions. The motion was seconded and passed.

Mr. Lavinka indicated that both resolutions will remove the requirement for University Council approval of changes to the GSA and SGA constitutions as well as improve the processes and procedures of each constitution. Mr. Lavinka indicated that both resolutions have been approved by the Commission on Student Affairs. Each resolution was then considered separately.

A motion was made and seconded to adopt Resolution CSA 2010-11B. The motion passed.

A motion was made and seconded to adopt CSA Resolution 2010-11C. A question was raised as to what judicial changes were being made to Resolution CSA 2010-11C. Lavinka indicated that there are only two changes to the SGA Constitution:

- 1. Removal of requirement for University Council approval on changes made to the SGA Constitution
- 2. Change the Secretary and Treasurer positions to appointed positions by the SGA President instead of elected positions.

Mr. Bo Hart indicated that in recent years there has been a lack of interest in the Secretary and Treasurer positions. The SGA House and Senate researched how other colleges and universities run their student government elections. Many institutions just elect a president or a president and vice president. This allows the president to appoint the Secretary and Treasurer. The student body voted in favor of electing just a president and a vice president.

A vote was taken, and the motion passed.

4. Old Business

Commission on Research

Resolution COR 2010-11A

Center and University Institutes: Establishment, Governance and

Programmatic Oversight (Amendment to Policy 13005)

Dr. Jesus de la Garza presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed.

Commission on Student Affairs

Resolution CSA 2010-11A

Resolution Supporting the Recycling of Receipts [Reduce Paper Waste] in Dining Halls

Mr. Lavinka presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed.

5. Announcement of Approval and Posting of Commission Minutes

These minutes have been voted on electronically and will be posted on the University web (http://www.governance.vt.edu). Note that the purpose of voting on Commission minutes is to accept them for filing. University Council By-laws require that policy items be brought forward in resolution form for University Council action.

- Commission on Faculty Affairs April 1, 2011 April 15, 2011
- Commission on Student Affairs April 7, 2011
- Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies April 11, 2011 April 25, 2011

6. Announcements/Discussions

A request was made to distribute University Council materials as attachments in an e-mail as well as have materials available on the governance website. Ms. Kim O'Rourke indicated that the materials can be distributed as an e-mail and on the website.

Karen Poff distributed copies of the 2008 and 2009 Virginia Cooperative Extension "Solutions" brochure to give Council members a sense of the breadth of activities in which VCE is engaged.

An announcement was made of three achievement ceremonies being held on May 12 in conjunction with Commencement. Everyone is invited. Information can be found at http://www.vt.edu/commencement/2011-spring-achievement-ceremony-schedule.html.

6. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 3:21 p.m.