UNIVERSITY COUNCIL MEETING

December 7, 2015 3:00 p.m. 1045 Pamplin Hall AGENDA

1. Adoption of Agenda Dr. Timothy Sands

2. Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of November 16, 2015

Dr. Timothy Sands

These minutes have been voted on electronically and will be posted on the University web.

3. Presentation

Curriculum & Degree Development

Dr. Rosemary Blieszner Assistant Vice Provost, Enrollment & Degree Management

Dr. Montasir Abbas

Ms. Jacquelyn Fisher

Dr. Montasir Abbas

Dr. Timothy Sands

4. <u>Old Business</u> Dr. Timothy Sands

Commission on Faculty Affairs

Resolution CFA 2015-16C

Resolution to Establish the Academy of Faculty Leadership

5. New Business Dr. Timothy Sands

Commission on Student Affairs

Resolution CSA 2015-16B

Commission on Faculty Affairs

Resolution CFA 2015-16D

Joint Resolution on the Formation of a University Governance Task Force

6. <u>Deferred Resolution</u> Dr. Timothy Sands

Commission on Faculty Affairs - (first reading: November 2, 2015)

Resolution CFA 2015-16B

Resolution on Shared Governance

7. Announcement of acceptance and posting of Commission Minutes

These minutes have been accepted for filing by electronic vote and will be posted on the University web. Note that the purpose of voting on Commission minutes is to accept them for filing. University Council By-laws require that policy items be brought forward in resolution form for University Council action.

Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity

November 2, 2015

Commission on Graduate Studies and Policies

November 18, 2015

Commission on Research

October 21, 2015

Commission on Staff Policies and Affairs

October 27, 2015

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies

November 9, 2015

Commission on University Support

October 15, 2015

8. Adjournment Dr. Timothy Sands

University Council Minutes December 7, 2015 3:00 PM 1045 Pamplin Hall

Present: Tim Sands (presiding), Richard Benson, Lay Nam Chang, Cyril Clarke, Jack Davis, Karen DePauw, Alan Grant, Scott Midkiff, Kim O'Rourke, Charles Phlegar, Thanassis Rikakis, Patricia Perillo, Dwight Shelton, Robert Sumichrast, Tom Tillar, Tyler Walters, Angela Kates for Sherwood Wilson, Paul Winistorfer, Montasir Abbas, Jan Helge Bøhn, Gena Chandler-Smith, Jacquelyn Fisher, Saul Halfon, Edward Lener, Jennifer Nardine, LeeAnn Ellis for Alex Parrish, Susan Volkmar, Randolph Wynne, Richard Ashley, Joe Merola, Corinne Noirot, Anita Puckett, Christopher Beattie, David Dillard, Kurt Zimmerman for Tom Inzana, Paul Herr, Joan Hirt, Nathan King, Judy Alford, Stacey Poertner, Tom Tucker, Sally Wieringa, Raifu Durodoye, Michael Martin, Matthew Chan, Homero Murzi, Emma Potter for Tara Reel, Stephen Hensell, Andrew O'Sullivan, Warren Nooger, Tanushri Shankar, Dan Cook, Rami Dalloul, Morgan Sykes

Absent: Dennis Dean, Guru Ghosh, Steve McKnight (with notice), Elizabeth Spiller, Andrew Tevington, Susan Anderson, Robert Bush, Susanna Rinehart, Kathrine Carter, Tom Fox, Ana Agud (with notice), Lynn Short, Sue Teel, Marwa Abdel Latif, Brett Besag (with notice), Kyrille Goldbeck DeBose (with notice), Alphonso Garrett, Tara Shockley, Olivia Javornik, Danny Strock, Mohammed Seyam (with notice)

Guests: Rachel Gabriele, Amy Hogan, Gary Long, April Myers, Rick Sparks

Dr. Sands called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. A quorum was present.

1. Adoption of Agenda

A motion was made and seconded to adopt the agenda. The motion carried.

2. Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of November 16, 2015

Dr. Sands noted that these minutes have been voted on electronically and can be publicly accessed on the Governance Information System on the Web (http://www.governance.vt.edu).

3. Presentation

Dr. Rosemary Blieszner gave a presentation (attached) on curriculum and degree development.

4. Old Business

Commission on Faculty Affairs

Resolution CFA 2015-16C

Resolution to Establish the Academy of Faculty Leadership.

Dr. Abbas presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded and the motion passed.

5. New Business

Commission on Student Affairs
Resolution CSA 2015-16B
Faculty Affairs
Resolution CFA 2015-16D

Joint Resolution on the Formation of a University Governance Task Force

Ms. Jacquelyn Fisher presented the resolution for first reading. Dr. Montasir Abbas moved to waive the first reading of this resolution (in effect, a request for reading and action) and the motion was seconded. After lengthy discussion, the motion to waive the first reading was defeated. The resolution will be presented for second reading and a vote at the February 1, 2016, University Council meeting.

6. <u>Deferred Resolution</u>

Commission on Faculty Affairs

Resolution CFA 2015-16B
Resolution on Shared Governance

Dr. Abbas presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded. Discussion took place and Dr. Abbas moved to withdraw his motion to approve the resolution. The motion to withdraw was seconded and the motion passed. This resolution will be presented for second reading and a vote at the February 1, 2016, University Council meeting.

7. Announcement of Approval and Posting of Commission Minutes

These minutes have been voted on electronically and will be posted on the University web (http://www.governance.vt.edu). Note that the purpose of voting on Commission minutes is to accept them for filing. University Council By-laws require that policy items be brought forward in resolution form for University Council action.

- Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity November 2, 2015
- Commission on Graduate Studies and Policies November 18, 2015
- Commission on Research October 21, 2015
- Commission on Staff Policies and Affairs October 27, 2015
- Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies November 9, 2015
- Commission on University Support October 15, 2015

8. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting 4:18 p.m.