# UNIVERSITY COUNCIL MEETING February 4, 2013 3:00 p.m. 1045 Pamplin Hall AGENDA

1.	Adoption of Agenda	Dr. Charles Steger
2.	Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of December 17, 2012 These minutes have been voted on electronically and will be posted on the University web.	Dr. Charles Steger
3.	Old Business	Dr. Charles Steger
	Commission on Graduate Studies and Policies Resolution 2012-13A Resolution to Approve the Individual Interdisciplinary Doctoral Program (ID PhD)	Dr. Mayuresh Patil
4.	Announcement of acceptance and posting of Commission Minutes These minutes have been accepted for filing by electronic vote and will be posted on the University web. Note that the purpose of voting on Commission minutes is to accept them for filing. University Council By-laws require that policy items be brought forward in resolution form for University Council action.	Dr. Charles Steger
	Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity December 3, 2012	
	Commission on Outreach and International Affairs November 15, 2012	
	Commission on Student Affairs November 29, 2012	
	Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies December 10, 2012	
	Commission on University Support November 15, 2012	

5. Adjournment

Dr. Charles Steger

#### University Council Minutes February 4, 2013 3:00 PM 1045 Pamplin Hall

**Present**: Charles Steger (presiding), Richard Benson, Lay Nam Chang, Jack Davis, Karen DePauw, Elizabeth Flanagan, Saied Mostaghimi for Alan Grant, William Lewis, Mark McNamee, Scott Midkiff, Jerry Niles, Kim O'Rourke, Sue Ott Rowlands, Patricia Perillo, Laura Rugless, Gerhardt Schurig, Dwight Shelton, Richard Sorensen, Tom Tillar, Bill Knocke for Robert Walters, Tyler Walters, Kayla Smith for Sherwood Wilson, Paul Winistorfer, Daniel Wubah, Mike Akers, Linda Bucy, Dan Cook, Carlyle Brewster for Christine Fiori, Maxine Lyons, Joe Merola, Mayuresh Patil, Yannis Stivachtis, Diane Zahm, Charlene Eska, Scott Nelson, Helene Renard, Susanna Rinehart, Deborah Smith, Jan Helge Bøhn for Eugene Brown, William Huckle, Robert Denton for Sam Riley, Jane Robertson, Eric Wiseman, Judy Alford, Darla Chudzik, Melissa Means, Jen Mirabella, Wyatt Sasser, Amy Tunison, Nicole DaDamio, Karen Poff, Patricia Smith, Patrick Tomlin, Leighton Vila, Austin Larrowe, Anjelica Smith, Robyn Jones, Sarah Karpanty, Nicholas Onopa, Sue Teel

**Absent** Christopher Atkins, Bruce Pencek (with notice), Mike Denbow, Dave Dugas, Debra Salbador, Teresa Lyons, Lauren Heming, Karisa Moore (with notice), Jacqueline Nottingham, Shaimaa Abdallah, Elaine Mathis, Dustin Dorph, Luke Hodge, Adam Smith, Paige Waltz

**Guests**: Rosemary Blieszner, Randy Collins, Jack Finney, Allison Knox, April Myers, Ellen Plummer, Brenda Van Gelder

Dr. Steger called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. A quorum was present.

## 1. Adoption of Agenda

A motion was made and seconded to adopt the agenda. The motion carried.

## 2. Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of December 17, 2012

Dr. Steger noted that these minutes have been voted on electronically and can be publicly accessed on the Governance Information System on the Web (<u>http://www.governance.vt.edu</u>).

#### 3. Announcements

## Update from the General Assembly

Dr. Steger announced that the General Assembly adopted a resolution recognizing Dean Richard Sorensen's contributions to the University.

Tomorrow is cross-over day, when bills from each chamber move to the other chamber. Dr. Steger noted several small budget additions for Virginia Tech that are under consideration by the legislature.

#### 4. Old Business

## **Commission on Graduate Studies and Policies**

Resolution 2012-13A Resolution to Approve the Individual Interdisciplinary Doctoral Program (ID PhD) Dr. Mayuresh Patil presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed with one vote opposed and one abstention.

After the vote, Dr. Bøhn informed the Council members that he voted nay because the College of Engineering Faculty Organization unanimously voted against the resolution because they could not determine a scenario in which it was needed.

Also after the vote, Dean Chang indicated that he abstained from the vote because the College of Science has some concerns with the program and did not understand clearly how the program is going to work.

#### 5. Announcement of Approval and Posting of Commission Minutes

These minutes have been voted on electronically and will be posted on the University web (http://www.governance.vt.edu). Note that the purpose of voting on Commission minutes is to accept them for filing. University Council By-laws require that policy items be brought forward in resolution form for University Council action.

- Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity December 3, 2012
- Commission on Outreach and International Affairs
  November 15, 2012
- Commission on Student Affairs November 29, 2012
- Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies
  December 10, 2012
- Commission on University Support November 15, 2012

## 6. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 3:12 p.m.