UNIVERSITY COUNCIL MEETING

November 26, 2012 3:00 p.m. 1045 Pamplin Hall AGENDA

1. Adoption of Agenda Dr. Mark McNamee Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of November 12, 2012 Dr. Mark McNamee These minutes have been voted on electronically and will be posted on the University web. **New Business** Dr. Mark McNamee Commission on Research Dr. Mike Akers Resolution 2012-13A Resolution to Change the Name of "Special Research Faculty" to "Research Faculty" 4. Old Business Dr. Mark McNamee Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies Dr. Audrey Zink-Sharp Resolution 2012-13B Resolution to Approve the Bachelor of Science Degree in Packaging Systems and Design Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies Dr. Audrey Zink-Sharp Resolution 2012-13C Resolution to Approve the Bachelor of Science Degree in Sustainable Biomaterials Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies Dr. Audrey Zink-Sharp Resolution 2012-13D Resolution to Establish an Undergraduate Curriculum Committee Dr. Mark McNamee Adjournment

University Council Minutes November 26, 2012 3:00 PM 1045 Pamplin Hall

Present: Mark McNamee (presiding), Richard Benson, Lay Nam Chang, Jack Davis, Karen DePauw, Elizabeth Flanagan, William Lewis, Scott Midkiff, Jerry Niles, Kim O'Rourke, Sue Ott Rowlands, Patricia Perillo, Laura Rugless, Roger Avery for Gerhardt Schurig, Savita Sharma for Dwight Shelton, Tom Tillar, Martin Daniel for Robert Walters, Tyler Walters, Kayla Smith for Sherwood Wilson, Thomas Olson for Paul Winistorfer, Daniel Wubah, Mike Akers, Christopher Atkins, Linda Bucy, Dan Cook, Maxine Lyons, Joe Merola, Mayuresh Patil, Yannis Stivachtis, Audrey Zink-Sharp for Diane Zahm, Tony Colaianne for Charlene Eska, Gary Long, William Christiansen for Scott Nelson, Helene Renard, Susanna Rinehart, Deborah Smith, Eugene Brown, Dave Dugas, William Huckle, Sam Riley, Jane Robertson, Darla Chudzik, Nicole DaDamio, Karisa Moore, Karen Poff, Patricia Smith, Patrick Tomlin, Shaimaa Abdallah, Leighton Vila, Dustin Dorph, Adam Smith, Anjelica Smith, Paige Waltz, Robyn Jones, Sarah Karpanty, Nicholas Onopa, Sue Teel

Absent Charles Steger (with notice), Alan Grant, Richard Sorensen, Christine Fiori, Bruce Pencek (with notice), Mike Denbow, Teresa Lyons, Melissa Means (with notice), Jen Mirabella, Allison Rubio, Wyatt Sasser (with notice), Amy Tunison (with notice), Debra Salbador (with notice), Eric Wiseman, Lauren Heming, Jacqueline Nottingham (with notice), Elaine Mathis, Luke Hodge, Austin Larrowe (with notice),

Guests: Randy Collins, Jack Finney, Natalie Hart, April Myers, Ellen Plummer

Dr. McNamee called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. A quorum was present.

1. Adoption of Agenda

A motion was made and seconded to adopt the agenda. The motion carried.

2. Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of November 12, 2012

Dr. McNamee noted that these minutes have been voted on electronically and can be publicly accessed on the Governance Information System on the Web (http://www.governance.vt.edu).

3. New Business

Commission on Research

Resolution 2012-13A

Resolution to Change the name of "Special Research Faculty" to "Research Faculty"

Dr. Mike Akers presented the resolution for first reading. This resolution is the result of work done by a taskforce approximately a year and a half ago. This resolution is removing the adjective "Special" from "Special Research Faculty." A question was raised as to why "Special" was included to initially. Dr. McNamee indicated that when it was created, this was a special category of research faculty (different from T&R faculty) that was shortened to "Special Research Faculty." Now it is common for faculty members to be devoted to full-time research so the word "special" is no longer necessary.

4. Old Business

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies

Resolution 2012-13B

Resolution to Approve the Bachelor of Science Degree in Packaging Systems and Design

Dr. Audrey Zink-Sharp presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed.

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies

Resolution 2012-13C

Resolution to Approve the Bachelor of Science Degree in Sustainable Biomaterials

Dr. Audrey Zink-Sharp presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed.

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies

Resolution 2012-13D

Resolution to Establish an Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

Dr. Audrey Zink-Sharp presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded. A suggestion had been made at the previous University Council meeting to add a position on the committee specifically for a staff representative, and the resolution was modified accordingly to include a staff representative elected by the Staff Senate to serve a three-year term. The motion passed.

5. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 3:06 p.m.