UNIVERSITY COUNCIL MEETING October 15, 2012 3:00 p.m. 1045 Pamplin Hall AGENDA

1.	Adoption of Agenda	Dr. Mark McNamee
2.	Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of October 1, 2012	Dr. Mark McNamee
	These minutes have been voted on electronically and will be posted on the University web.	
3.	Old Business	Dr. Mark McNamee
	Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies Resolution 2012-13A Resolution to Approve the Bachelor of Science Degree in Real Estate	Dr. Diane Zahm
4.	Announcement of acceptance and posting of Commission Minutes These minutes have been accepted for filing by electronic vote and will be posted on the University web. Note that the purpose of voting on Commission minutes is to accept them for filing. University Council By-laws require that policy items be brought forward in resolution form for University Council action.	Dr. Mark McNamee
	Commission on Graduate Studies and Policies September 19, 2012	
	Commission on Staff Policies and Affairs September 25, 2012	
	Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies September 24, 2012	
5.	Adjournment	Dr. Mark McNamee

University Council Minutes October 15, 2012 3:00 PM 1045 Pamplin Hall

Present: Mark McNamee (presiding), Richard Benson, Janet Sanders for Lay Nam Chang, John Browser for Jack Davis, Karen DePauw, Angela Hayes for Elizabeth Flanagan, Edwin Jones for Alan Grant, William Lewis, Jeb Stewart for Scott Midkiff, Jerry Niles, Kim O'Rourke, Sue Ott Rowlands, Guy Sims for Patricia Perillo, Gerhardt Schurig, Savita Sharma for Dwight Shelton, Kay Hunnings for Richard Sorensen, Jeb Stewart, Tom Tillar, Martin Daniel for Robert Walters, Tyler Walters, Sherwood Wilson, Paul Winistorfer, Mike Akers, Linda Bucy, Maxine Lyons, Joe Merola, Yannis Stivachtis, Diane Zahm, Charlene Eska, Gary Long, Scott Nelson, Bruce Pencek, Helene Renard, Susanna Rinehart, Deborah Smith, Eugene Brown, Mike Denbow, William Huckle, Sam Riley, Eric Wiseman, Darla Chudzik, Teresa Lyons, Melissa Means, Wyatt Sasser, Nicole DaDamio, Karisa Moore, Karen Poff, Leighton Vila, Dustin Dorph, Anjelica Smith, Paige Waltz, Robyn Jones, Sarah Karpanty, Nicholas Onopa, Sue Teel

Absent Charles Steger (with notice), Daniel Wubah (with notice), Christopher Atkins, Dan Cook (with notice), Christine Fiori, Mayuresh Patil, Jane Robertson, Debra Salbador (with notice), Jen Mirabella (with notice), Allison Rubio (with notice), Amy Tunison, Lauren Heming, Jacqueline Nottingham (with notice), Patricia Smith, Patrick Tomlin, Shaimaa Abdallah, Elaine Mathis, Luke Hodge, Austin Larrowe (with notice), Adam Smith

Guests: Jack Finney, Natalie Hart, April Myers

Dr. McNamee called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. A quorum was present.

1. Adoption of Agenda

A motion was made and seconded to adopt the agenda. The motion carried.

2. Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of October 1, 2012

Dr. McNamee noted that these minutes have been voted on electronically and can be publicly accessed on the Governance Information System on the Web (<u>http://www.governance.vt.edu</u>).

3. Old Business

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies

Resolution 2012-13A Resolution to Approve the Bachelor of Science Degree in Real Estate

Dr. Diane Zahm presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed.

4. Announcement of Approval and Posting of Commission Minutes

These minutes have been voted on electronically and will be posted on the University web (http://www.governance.vt.edu). Note that the purpose of voting on Commission minutes is to accept them for filing. University Council By-laws require that policy items be brought forward in resolution form for University Council action.

- Commission on Graduate Studies and Policies September 19, 2012
- Commission on Staff Policies and Affairs September 25, 2012

 Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies September 24, 2012

5. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 3:03 p.m.