Commission on Outreach and International Affairs 2021-2022 Members

CHARGE: To study, formulate, and recommend to the University Council policies and procedures concerning the engagement of the University in service, outreach, and international affairs. Areas for consideration include: Cooperative Extension, continuing and professional education; economic development including community resource and leadership development; liaison with affiliated corporations and institutes; international programs; and other matters affecting service, outreach, and international affairs. The Commission on Outreach and International Affairs will liaison with the Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies with issues regarding study abroad and international exchange programs.

Chair - Elected from non-administrative faculty & staff members of the Commission by membership

| Robert Weiss | Chair | 2022 | |
|---|---|--|--|
| Ex Officio | | | |
| Guru Ghosh Don Hempson Susan Short Edwin Jones | Vice President for Outreach and International Affairs Associate Vice President, International Affairs Associate Vice President for Engagement Director of Virginia Cooperative Extension | ex officio ex officio ex officio ex officio | |
| One member from the area of International Affairs who shall be the chair of the UCIA or his/her appointee | | | |
| Theresa Johansson | Representative from the area of International Affairs | 2022 | |
| One academic dean selected by Council of College Deans (two-year term) | | | |
| Farida Jalalzai | Liberal Arts and Human Sciences | 2022 | |
| Two Faculty Senators elected by Faculty Senate (three-year terms) | | | |
| Peter Schmitthenner Robert Weiss | Department of Religion and Culture Department of Geosciences | 2023 2022 | |
| Faculty representatives from each of the academic colleges elected by faculty in the college (three-year terms) | | | |
| Penny Muelenaer Jan Helge Bohn Jessica Agnew Nick Copeland Angela Scarpa | Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine Engineering Agriculture and Life Sciences Liberal Arts and Human Sciences Science | 2023 2024 2023 2022 2024 | |

| Cassidy Rist Robert Oliver David Brinberg Ralph Hall | Veterinary Medicine Natural Resources and Environment Business Architecture and Urban Studies | 2022 2023 2024 2022 | |
|---|--|------------------------------|--|
| Three elected representatives of the Cooperative Extension non-ex officio A/P faculty (three-year terms) (The Administrative and Professional Faculty Affairs will provide names of elected individuals.) | | | |
| Kenner Love | Rappahannock Cooperative Extension | 2024 | |
| Megan Seibel | VALOR | 2024 | |
| Tara Brent | Northumberland Cooperative Extension Service | 2022 | |
| One Staff Senator elected by Staff Senate (three-year term) | | | |
| Vacant | | 2024 | |
| One student representative representing the Graduate and Professional Student Senate (one- year term) | | | |
| Aimane Najmeddine | Civil Engineering | 2022 | |
| One student representative representing the Undergraduate Student Senate (one-year term) | | | |
| Vacant | | 2022 | |
| Note: At least 2 faculty members on the Commission on Outreach and International Affairs will have experience in leading study abroad programs. | | | |

*The chair will be elected from among the non-administrative faculty and staff members of the commission by the commission membership.