### **Commission on Research**

#### 2023-2024 Members

**CHARGE**: To study, formulate, and recommend to the Faculty Senate policies and procedures concerning research and research faculty. Areas for consideration include sponsored programs, core programs and interdisciplinary research; intellectual property; animal care and human subjects; indirect costs and returned overhead; research facilities, centers and institutes, and library resources; and liaison with affiliated corporations and institutes.

Carla Finkielstein Chair 2024

Ex Officio

Daniel Sui Senior Vice President for Research and Innovation ex officio Randy Heflin Research and Innovation Senior Associate Vice President ex officio

One representative from the Office of the Vice President for Outreach and International Affairs

Donald Hempson Outreach and International Affairs 2024

One department- or division-level administrative representative appointed by the President

Roseanne Foti Department of Psychology 2025

One representative of research-related interdisciplinary programs, groups, or centers appointed by the President

Benjamin Knapp Institute for Creativity, Arts, and Technology 2025

One dean selected by Council of College Deans

Kevin Pitts Science 2024

One faculty representative from each of the university's thematic research institutes appointed by the respective institute director

	Fralin Biomedical Research Institute	2026
Elizabeth White	Virginia Tech Transportation Institute	2024
Alexandra Poetter	Virginia Tech National Security Institute	2024

One faculty representative of the university's research investment institutes appointed by the
respective institute directors, collectively

Barry Miller ICTAS 2025

#### One faculty senator elected by the Faculty Senate

2026

### Faculty representatives from each of the academic colleges elected by the faculty in each of the colleges

Daniel Pauly	Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine	2026
Kathy Lu	Engineering	2025
Ryan Stewart	Agriculture and Life Sciences	2025
Corinne Noirot	Liberal Arts and Human Sciences	2026
Cindy Devers	Business	2025
Quinn Thomas	Natural Resources and Environment	2026
Lijuan Yuan	Veterinary Medicine	2024
Ronald Gibbons	Architecture, Arts, and Design	2024
Sheryl Ball	Science	2024

### One representative from the Library Faculty Association elected by Library Faculty Association

Jonathan Petters University Libraries 2025

# One non-ex officio A/P faculty representative elected by the Administrative and Professional Faculty Senate

Leanna Blevins Fralin Biomedical Research Institute 2025

### One representative in the Postdoctoral Associate rank elected by persons in that rank\*

Elizabeth McLain School of Performing Arts 2026

## Two representatives working in research faculty appointments as defined in the Virginia Tech Faculty Handbook (excluding Postdoctoral Associates) elected by persons in those ranks\*

Chris Headley	Electronics Systems Lab, Hume Center	2024
Luke Neurauter	VTTI – Vehicle Driver & Occupant Interfaces	2024

#### One staff senator elected by Staff Senate

Eric Newton Scholarly Integrity and Research Compliance 2025

Two graduate and	professional	student	senators	elected	by the	Graduate	and	<b>Professi</b>	onal
Student Senate									

20242024

One undergraduate student senator elected by the Undergraduate Student Senate

2024

<sup>\*</sup>The nomination and election process for these positions will be conducted by the Office of Research, which will report election results to the secretary of university council.