University Council 2023-2024 Members

Chair - President (non-voting chair)				
Tim Sands	Chair	ex officio		
Secretary of University Council (non-voting)				
April Myers	Secretary	ex officio		
Vice President for Policy	and Governance (non-voting)			
Kim O'Rourke		ex officio		
Vice Presidents (By virtue	e of position)			
Cyril Clarke Amy Sebring Daniel Sui Bryan Garey Menah Pratt Frances Keene Dean of the Graduate Sch	Executive VP and Provost Executive VP and Chief Operating Officer Senior VP for Research and Innovation VP for Human Resources VP for Strategic Affairs and Diversity VP for Student Affairs	ex officio ex officio ex officio ex officio ex officio ex officio		
Aimée Surprenant		ex officio		
Vice Provost for Undergr	aduate Academic Affairs (By virtue of position)			
Rachel Holloway		ex officio		
College Deans (By virtue	of position)			
Alan Grant Daniel Givens Laura Belmonte Tsai Lu Liu Kevin Pitts Paul Winistorfer Julia Ross Saonee Sarker Lee Learman	Agriculture and Life Sciences Veterinary Medicine Liberal Arts and Human Sciences Architecture, Arts, and Design Science Natural Resources and Environment Engineering Business Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine	ex officio ex officio ex officio ex officio ex officio ex officio ex officio ex officio ex officio		
Dean of University Libraries (By virtue of position)				

Tyler Walters

Dean of Honors College (By virtue of position)

Paul Knox		ex officio		
Department Heads Council Executive Committee Co-Chairs (By virtue of position)				
Dwayne Edwards	Biological Systems Engineering	2024		
Natalia Guerrero	Small Animal Clinical Sciences	2024		
-				
Senate Leadership and B	OV Representatives (By virtue of position)			
Joe Merola	President of the Faculty Senate	2024		
Robert Weiss	Immediate Past President of the Faculty Senate	2024		
Evan Lavender-Smith	Vice President of the Faculty Senate	2024		
Janice Austin	President of the A/P Faculty Senate	2024		
Stephanie Trout	Vice President of the A/P Faculty Senate	2024		
Jennifer Jones	Secretary of the A/P Faculty Senate	2024		
LaTawnya Burleson	President of the Staff Senate	2024		
Callan Bartel	Vice President of the Staff Senate	2024		
Kari Evans	Secretary of the Staff Senate	2024		
Kiera Schneiderman	President of the USS	2024		
Tristan Southerland	VP for Shared Governance for the USS	2024		
William Storey	VP and Representative to the BOV for the USS	2024		
Ainsley Cragin	VP for Issues and Policy for the USS	2024		
Rachel Maizel	President of the GPSS	2024		
Yohan Sequeira	VP of the GPSS	2024		
	Director of Communications & Secretary of the GPSS	2024		
Emily Tirrell	Graduate & Professional Student Representative to the BOV	2024		

Faculty Senators from each of the Academic Colleges

	Science	2026
	Engineering	2026
A.K. Ward Bartlett	Business	2025
	Agriculture and Life Sciences	2024
Daniel Hindman	Natural Resources and Environment	2024
Nathan King	Architecture, Arts, and Design	2026
	Liberal Arts and Human Sciences	2024
Virginia Buechner-Maxwell	Veterinary Medicine	2024
	Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine	2026

A/P Faculty Senator

Lujean Baab

Staff Senators

Serena Young Amber Robinson Nicole Akers	University Ombuds Office College of Science Dean's Office College of Engineering	2026 2024 2025			
Representatives from the Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity					
Melissa Faircloth	Representative from the American Indian & Indigenous People's Alliance	2025			
John Gray Williams	Representative form the LGBTQ+ Caucus	2024			
Kelly Oaks	Equity and Accessibility	2025			
Shania Clinedinst	Black Caucus	2024			
Representative from the Commission on Outreach and International Affairs					

Dave Close

Chair of COIA

2024