MINUTES

Staff Senate May 15, 2025 12:00 p.m. https://virginiatech.zoom.us.j/88942085525

- **Present:** LaTawnya Burleson (presiding), Benjamin Alden, Angel Carter, Zai Cook, Denise Crawford, Alma deLeon, Pat Donovan, Kari Evans, Nikki Gland-Turpin, Joseph Goodman, Andrea Green, Amber Hagan, Amanda Hill, Amy Ingram, Frank Kerr, Sarah Owen, Amy Pendleton, Amanda Pester, Gabe Petry, Stephanie Picado, Amber Robinson, Sally Shupe, and Serena Young.
- Absent with Notice: Misti Acosta, Wendy Hodge, Michelle Raines, and Mary Sullivan.
- **Absent:** Jasmine Boyd, Robert Cooley, Kristen Cox, Dee Hopkins, Brian Huddleston, Jennifer Pike, Petie Martin, Ron Mecham, Dennie Munson, Eric Tysor, Chris Whitlock, and Christina Winkeler.
- **Guests:** Brittany Bane, Lee Bishop, Alberto Cano, Sarah Collins, India Eanes, Tammy Guynn, Jody Humphreys, Kyle Johnson, Michele Loy, Daniella Miller, Jenn Million, April Myers, Alicia Pierce, Amber Pifer, Sharon Pitt, David Raymond, Ronna Reed, Tamarah Smith, Marty Wyatt, and Dan Young.

President Burleson called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m. A quorum was present.

1. Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of April 17, 2025.

President Burleson noted that these minutes have been voted on electronically and can be publicly accessed on the Governance Website: <u>governance.vt.edu</u>

2. Other Items

• McComas Staff Leadership Seminar is scheduled for Thursday, June 12. In-person registration is at capacity, but virtual registration is still open. If you have swag items that can be used as giveaways at the event, please reach out to a committee member.

3. Presentation

Sharon Pitt, Vice President of Information Technology, Kyle Johnson, AVP for Governance, Policy, and Strategy, Alberto Cano, AVP for Advanced Research Computing, and David Raymond, AVP for Security and Identity gave a presentation with updates on the university's Enterprise Resource Planning systems, IT Security, Advanced Research Computing and an IT Strategic Plan Overview.

4. Announcements

• The next Staff Senate meeting is June 18, 2025, at 12:00 p.m. The meeting will be held in Gilbert Place 5002H and also via Zoom.

5. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 12:53 p.m.