University Council Minutes March 13, 2023 3:30 PM Creativity and Innovation District Building Multipurpose Library (104)

Present: Tim Sands (presiding), April Myers, Kim O'Rourke, Cyril Clarke, Daniel Sui, Bryan Garey, Menah Pratt, James Bridgeforth for Frances Keene, Aimée Surprenant, Rachel Holloway, Saied Mostaghmim for Alan Grant, Laura Hungerford for Daniel Givens, Laura Belmonte, Rosemary Blieszner, Kevin Pitts, Paul Winistorfer, Julia Ross, Lee Learman, Tyler Walters, Dwayne Edwards, Robert Weiss, Rachel Miles, Robin Queen, Holli Gardner Drewry, Janice Austin, Jennifer Jones, Serena Young, LaTawnya Burleson, Bruce Harper, Caroline Lohr, Ainsley Cragin, Ben Beiter, Chloe Jade Robertson, Noor Tasnim, Carla Finkielstein, A.K. Ward Bartlett, Leigh-Anne Krometis, Holly Kindsvater for Daniel Hindman, Evan Lavender-Smith, Virginia Buechner-Maxwell, Azziza Bankole, Lujean Baab, Jamie McElfresh, Callan Bartel, Nicole Akers, Melissa Faircloth, Anita Jenious for Kelly Oaks, & Jan Helge Bøhn

Absent with notice: Amy Sebring

Absent: Robin Russell, Paul Knox, Shahed Sanuri, Jamal Ross, Anna Buhle, Masoud Agah, Nathan King, John Gray Williams, & Shania Clinedinst

Guests: Demetria Somervell, Lori Buchanan, Steve Clark, Sally Shupe, Dee Harris, Kari Evans, Monty Abbas, Kat Nelson, Dan Taggart, Monique L. Logan, Kayla Dean, Ron Fricker, Brandy Morse, Rick Sparks, Whitley Johnson, & Arianna Schuler Scott

While Dr. Sands was experiencing technical difficulties trying to connect to the meeting via Zoom, Dr. Clarke called the hybrid meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. A quorum was present.

1. Adoption of Agenda

A motion was made and seconded to adopt the agenda. The motion carried.

2. Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of February 20, 2023

Dr. Clarke for Dr. Sands noted that these minutes have been voted on electronically and can be publicly accessed on the Governance Information System on the Web (<u>http://www.governance.vt.edu</u>).

3. Unfinished Business

Commission on Faculty Affairs

Resolution CFA 2022-23A

Resolution to Revise the Faculty Handbook Regarding Emeritus or Emerita Designation

Robin Queen presented the resolution for second reading and made a motion to approve. She noted that a change requested by the AP faculty had been incorporated in this final version. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed.

Commission on Graduate and Professional Studies and Policies Resolution CGPSP 2022-23A

Co-operative Education Program Change

Montasir Abbas presented the resolution for second reading. Aimée Surprenant made a motion to approve the resolution. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed.

Commission on Graduate and Professional Studies and Policies Resolution CGPSP 2022-23B

Resolution to Establish a Master of Science Degree in Applied Data Science

Montasir Abbas presented the resolution for second reading. Aimée Surprenant made a motion to approve the resolution. The motion was seconded, and the motion passed.

4. New Business

Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty Affairs Resolution CAPFA 2022-23A

Resolution to Revise the Administrative and Professional Faculty Senate Constitution

Janice Austin presented the resolution for first reading. This revision will align the Administrative and Professional Faculty Senate Constitution with the recent changes made to the University Council Constitution and Bylaws. There are also some modifications made that will improve the operations of the senate.

Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity

Resolution CEOD 2022-23B

Resolution to Approve the Land Acknowledgement and Labor Recognition Statements

Melissa Faircloth presented the resolution for first reading. There have been informal acknowledgements that have previously circulated on campus. This new language provides more education and context for the broader campus community about our institution's history.

5. Announcement of Approval and Posting of UC Cabinet, Commission and Committee Minutes

These minutes have been voted on electronically and will be posted on the University web (http://www.governance.vt.edu). Note that the purpose of voting on Cabinet and Commission minutes is to accept them for filing. University Council Bylaws require that policy items be brought forward in resolution form for University Council action.

- University Council Cabinet February 27, 2023
- Commission on Administrative and Professional Faculty Affairs December 14, 2022
- Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity October 18, 2022
- Commission on Faculty Affairs January 20, 2023
- Commission on Research December 8, 2022
- Commission on Undergraduate Student Affairs January 19, 2023
- Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies February 13, 2023

- Athletics Committee February 9, 2023
- Transportation and Parking Committee January 10, 2023 February 14, 2023

6. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 3:48 p.m.

Γ

		Do you approve	
	Do you approve CFA	CGPSP Resolution	Do you approve CGPSP
Name	Resolution 2022-23A?	2022-23A?	Resolution 2022-23B?
Anita Jenious	Yes	Yes	Yes
Serena Young	Yes	Yes	Yes
AK Ward	Yes	Yes	Yes
Paul Winistorfer	Yes	Yes	Yes
Caroline Lohr	Yes	Yes	Yes
Leigh-Anne Krometis	No Response	Yes	Yes
Virginia Buechner-Maxwell	Yes	Yes	Yes
Kevin Pitts	Yes	Yes	Yes
Janice Austin	Yes	Yes	Yes
Robin Queen	Yes	Yes	Yes
Melissa Faircloth	Yes	Yes	Yes
Aimée Surprenant	Yes	Yes	Yes
Holly Kindsvater	Yes	Yes	Yes
Cyril Clarke	Yes	Yes	Yes
Robert Weiss	Yes	Yes	Yes
Azziza Bankole	Yes	Yes	Yes
saied Mostaghimi	Yes	Yes	Yes
Evan Lavender-Smith	Yes	Yes	Yes
Jamie McElfresh	Yes	Yes	Yes
Nicole Akers	Yes	Yes	Yes
Rosemary Blieszner	Yes	Yes	Yes
Carla finkielstein	Yes	Yes	Yes
Dwayne Edwards	Yes	Yes	Yes
Rachel Holloway	Yes	Yes	Yes
Bryan Garey	Yes	Yes	Yes
James Bridgeforth	Yes	Yes	Yes
Julia Ross	Yes	Yes	Yes
Laura Hungerford	Yes	Yes	Yes
Jennifer Jones	Yes	Yes	Yes
Menah Pratt	Yes	Yes	Yes
Jan Helge Bøhn	Yes	Yes	Yes
Tyler Walters	Yes	Yes	Yes
Bruce Harper	Yes	Yes	Yes
Rachel Miles	Yes	Yes	Yes
LaTawnya Burleson	Yes	Yes	Yes
Ben Beiter	Yes	Yes	Yes
Noor Tasnim	Yes	Yes	Yes
Holli Gardner Drewry	Yes	Yes	Yes
Callan Bartel	Yes	Yes	Yes
Laura Belmonte	Yes	No	Yes
Chloe Robertson	Yes	Yes	Yes
Daniel Sui	No Response	No Response	No Response

		Do you approve	
	Do you approve CFA	CGPSP Resolution	Do you approve CGPSP
Name	Resolution 2022-23A?	2022-23A?	Resolution 2022-23B?
Lee Learman	No Response	No Response	No Response
Ainsley Cragin	No Response	No Response	No Response
Lujean Baab	No Response	No Response	No Response