COMMISSION ON UNIVERSITY SUPPORT MEETING November 19, 2020

ATTENDEES

Members Present: Judy Alford, John Benner, Michael Boroswki, William Dougherty for Scott Midkiff, Julie Farmer for Charlie Phlegar, Jeff Earley, Martha Glass, Debbie Greer for Ken Miller, Bradley Klein, Polly Middleton, Phil Miskovic, Ryan Speer, Connie Stovall, Robert Sumichrast, Jon Clark Teglas for Chris Kiwus, and Sarah Woodward

Members Absent: Shannon Phillips, Patrick Pithua

Guests: Mike Mulhare, Denny Cochrane, Christina King, April Myers

Recorder: Teresa Thompson

1. Welcome and Roll Call

Commission Chair, John Benner, called the meeting to order at 2:01 p.m. Introductions and roll call were initiated by the Chair. New to the Commission membership is Jeff Earley, Associate Vice Provost for Finance who replaces Ken Smith, and Connie Stovall, Assistant Director, University Libraries, strategic research and industry intelligence analyst. We are pleased to have them join the Commission.

2. Approval of Agenda

A motion was made, seconded, and unanimously passed to accept the October 2020 agenda.

3. Approval of the October 2020 minutes

The October 15, 2020 minutes were approved electronically.

4. New Business

Mike Mulhare, Assistant Vice President for Emergency Management, delivered a very instructive and edifying presentation on the collaborative efforts with multiple units including Facilities, Human Resources, Communications, and others since March 2020 to address COVID-19. There was the development of the Incident Management Team (IMT) group that continues to hold weekly briefings. His presentation provided insightful statistical information surrounding multiple aspects of COVID-19.

5. Updates from Committee Representatives

Campus Development Committee – Christina King advised no report at this time.

Energy and Sustainability Committee – Denny Cochrane reported they have met 4 times already this semester and have been fully engaged with the process and support of the Climate Action Commitment Resolution 2020- 21A. At their November 2020 meeting, the Board of Visitors received a presentation from Professor Emeritus John Randolph on the Virginia Tech 2020 Climate Action Commitment Working Group's Final Report. The Board of Visitors accepted the university's 2019-2020 Sustainability Annual Report. As a reminder, the Green RFP launched in September and proposals are now due. Also, they continue to work on submission for STARS program due in December.

IT Services and Systems Committee – William Dougherty reported the committee met and they have established five (5) subcommittees to address various subject matters including administrative, infrastructure, residential/home internet. He reported the Qualtrics contract is currently undergoing changes and costs will increase. Cable TV on campus is slated to change effective January 1, 2021, however, ACC programming is retained and the should be minimal other programming changes.

Transportation and Parking Committee – Ryan Speer stated the committee has not met again and no report at this time.

6. Acceptance of Committee Minutes

Campus Development Committee – No new minutes, thus no voting action required by the Commission.

Energy and Sustainability Committee – September 28, 2020 and October 26, 2020 minutes were unanimously accepted and approved.

IT Services and Systems Committee – November 2, 2020 minutes were unanimously accepted and approved. Transportation and Parking Committee – October 7, 2020 minutes were accepted and unanimously approved.

7. Next Meeting Date

<u>Next meeting date is December 17, 2020</u>. With nothing currently identified for presentation, Chair Benner entertained action to suspend the December meeting if the group was in favor. The group's decision was to leave on the calendar for now and re-visit closer to meeting date.

8. Adjournment: There being no further business to discuss, the commission adjourned at 3:00pm with proper motion.

Respectfully submitted, Teresa Thompson