COMMISSION ON UNIVERSITY SUPPORT MEETING MINUTES September 17, 2020 Via Zoom - 2:00pm

ATTENDEES

Members Present: Judy Alford, John Benner, Michael Boroswki, William Dougherty*for Scott Midkiff,* Julie Farmer for *Charlie Phlegar*, Debbie Greer for*Ken Miller*, Bradley Klein, Phil Miskovic, Shannon Phillips, Patrick Pithua, Ken Smith, Ryan Speer, Jon Clark Teglas for *Chris Kiwus*, and Sarah Woodward

Members Absent: Martha Glass, Polly Middleton, and Robert Sumichrast

Guests: Richard Ashley, Denny Cochrane, Christina King, April Myers, Liza Morris, John Randolph, and Todd Schenk

Recorder: Teresa Thompson

1. Welcome and Roll Call

Commission Chair, John Benner, called the meeting to order at 2:06 p.m. Introductions and roll call was initiated by the Chair to confirm a quorum via Zoom.

2. Approval of Agenda

A motion was made, seconded, and passed to accept the April 2020 agenda.

3. Approval of the April 2020 minutes

The April 2020 minutes were approved electronically.

4. Old Business

There was no old business to discuss.

5. New Business

John Benner provided an overview of the charges of the Commission and its four reporting Committees.

6. Resolution 2020-21A – Virginia Tech 2020 Climate Action Commitment

Denny Cochrane introduced Professor Emiterus John Randolph who shared a detailed presentation in support for the Virginia Tech 2020 Climate Action Commitment. The presentation was followed by review, questions and the First Reading of this Resolution. A motion was made by William Dougherty to approve and adopt the First Reading of Resolution 2020-21A – Virginia Tech Climate Action Commitment. The motion was seconded by Judy Alford and passed.

7. Updates from Committee Representatives

Campus Development Committee – Liza Morris reported they will hold their first committee meeting on October 5, 2020.

Energy and Sustainability Committee – Denny Cochrane gave an update on the recent committee meetings and noted they moved first meeting up to August 26, 2020 because of work required on the Climate Action Commitment Resolution. The minutes for this meeting will be presented to the Committee at their September meeting and then to the Commission at the October meeting.

IT Services and Systems Committee – William Dougherty reported the committee has not met to date as they await appointment of the SGA Representative to the committee. An October meeting is anticipated.

Transportation and Parking Committee – Richard Ashley reported the committee plans to hold first meeting in the next two weeks.

8. Acceptance of Committee Minutes

Campus Development Committee – February, March and April 2020 minutes were accepted and a motion was made by William Dougherty to approve said minutes. The motion was seconded by Jon Clark Teglas and passed.

Energy and Sustainability Committee – April 2020 minutes were accepted and a motion was made by William Dougherty to approve said minutes. The motion was seconded by Jon Clark Teglas and passed.

IT Services and Systems Committee – Spring 2020 minutes were accepted and a motion was made by Jon Clark Teglas to approve said minutes. The motion was seconded by Denny Cochrane and passed.

Transportation and Parking Committee – September 2020 minutes accepted and a motion was made by William Dougherty to approve said minutes. The motion was seconded by Judy Alford and passed.

9. Next Meeting Date

Next meeting date is October 15, 2020 via zoom platform.

10. Adjourned at 3:05pm

Respectfully submitted, Teresa Thompson