Commission on Faculty Affairs

2024-2025 Members

CHARGE: To study, formulate, and recommend to the Faculty Senate policies and procedures affecting faculty working conditions and the professional standing of all faculty who qualify for membership in the Faculty Senate. Areas for consideration include commencement; academic freedom and faculty morale; procedures for appointing, evaluating, disciplining, and recognizing faculty, including department heads and chairs; tenure and/or promotion, benefits, academic and personal leave, and extra-university professional activity; and matters of equity and diversity that affect faculty.

Chair elected by the Faculty Senate		
Justin Lemkul	Chair	2025
Ex Officio (By virtue of position)		
Ron Fricker	Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs	ex officio
Two deans selected by the Council of College Deans		
Kevin Pitts Lee Learman	Science Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine	2026 2026
Nine faculty senators elected by Faculty Senate		
Ran Jin Diane Agud Jake Lahne Rodney Gaines James Hawdon Virginia Buechner-Maxwell Kristen Benson Evan Lavender-Smith Joel McGlothlin	Industrial and Systems Engineering Mathematics Food Sciences & Technology Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise Sociology Large Animal Clinical Sciences Human Development Family Sciences English Biological Sciences	2026 2027 2027 2027 2026 2027 2025 2025 2025
One staff senator elected by Staff Senate		
Vacant		2027
One administrative and professional faculty senator elected by the Administrative and Professional Faculty Senate		
Nicole Connors	Institutional Effectiveness	2025
One graduate and professional student senator elected by the Graduate and Professional Student Senate		
Aaron Torres	Physics	2025
One undergraduate student senator elected by the Undergraduate Student Senate		
Alex Efird	Public Administration and Public Affairs	2025