## **Commission on Graduate and Professional Studies and Policies** 2024-2025 Members

CHARGE: To study, formulate, and recommend to the Faculty Senate policies and procedures concerning graduate and professional academic matters. Areas for consideration include admissions, academic progress, degree requirements, commencement; registration and scheduling; graduate curricular standards and expectations, advising, and instruction, both of and by graduate students; research involving graduate students; financial assistance including assistantships, scholarships, and fellowships; the graduate and professional honor systems, including approval of changes to the Graduate Honor Codes; and library resources. The commission is also responsible for conducting an annual review of the university academic catalog to ensure that it is in alignment with university policies and is otherwise accurate. Such reviews do not involve or require approval of any senate or University Council. Any policy changes determined to be necessary will be considered through the normal resolution approval process.

considered through the normal resolution approval process.			
Chair elected by the Faculty Senate			
Renée LeClair	Chair	2025	
Ex Officio (By virtue of position)			
Aimée Surprenant Rachel Holloway Tyler Walters	Dean for Graduate Education Vice Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs Dean of Libraries	ex officio ex officio ex officio	
One dean selected by Council of College Deans			
Leslie LaConte	Designee of the Dean of the Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine	2026	
One representative of the off-campus centers appointed by the Dean of the Graduate School			
Veronica van Montfrans	Translational Biology, Medicine and Health Academic Programs	2027	
Two faculty senators elected by the Faculty Senate			
Jerald Walz Carolyn Commer	Agricultural, Leadership and Community Education English Department	2026 2025	
Faculty representatives from each of the academic colleges elected by the faculty in each college			
Renée LeClair Kwok Tsang Jacque Pelzer Paul Emmons Sattar Mansi Nancy Bradley Brian Strahm Kaylee South Nathan Lau	Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine Science Veterinary Medicine Architecture, Arts, and Design Business Liberal Arts and Human Sciences Natural Resources and Environment Agriculture and Life Sciences Engineering	2026 2026 2027 2025 2025 2025 2027 2027 2025	
One tenure-track faculty member from the Greater Washington, D.C. Metro Area Campus appointed by the Executive Vice President and Provost			
Kirk Cameron	Research and Engagement	2027	

One representative from the Library Faculty Association elected by the Library Faculty Association			
Lisa Becksford	University Libraries	2025	
One staff senator elected by Staff Senate			
Zai Cook	Architecture, Arts, and Design	2026	
One non-ex officio A/P faculty representative elected by the Administrative and Professional Faculty Senate			
Aaron Bond	Technology-Enhanced Learning and Online Strategies (TLOS)	2027	
Chair of the Graduate Honor System (By virtue of position)			
Rose McGroarty	Chair of the Graduate Honor System	2025	
Two graduate and professional student senators elected by the Graduate and Professional Student Senate			
Kaustuv Ray Brian Bush	Civil Engineering Biological Sciences	2025 2025	
One undergraduate student senator elected by the Undergraduate Student Senate			
Vacant		2025	