Commission on Outreach and International Affairs

2024-2025 Members

CHARGE: To study, formulate, and recommend to University Council policies and procedures that advance regional, national, and international efforts to fulfill the land-grant mission of enriching the quality of life and economic vitality of citizens around the world. The commission seeks to advance public engagement and globalization with knowledge generated by faculty and researchers in order to address complex societal challenges and enrich research and educational programs through these collaborative efforts. Areas for consideration include Cooperative Extension, cross-sectoral partnerships, graduate education and professional development programs, economic development programs, community engagement and leadership initiatives; and international program development and implementation. COIA will work with CUSP on issues regarding study abroad and international exchange programs and with CGPSP regarding graduate education across the Commonwealth.

Chair – Elected from the faculty & staff member of the Commission by the commission membership			
Francisco Carvallo	Chair	2025	
Ex Officio (By virtue of position)			
Guru Ghosh Vacant Susan Short Mike Gutter	Associate Vice President, International Affairs ex Associate Vice President for Engagement ex	x officio x officio x officio x officio	
Chair of the University Committee on International Affairs (UCIA) or designee			
Thomas Archibald	Chair, UCIA	2025	
One dean selected by the Council of College Deans			
Aimée Surprenant	Graduate School	2026	
Two Faculty Senators elected by Faculty Senate			
Charles Lowery Richard Shryock	School of Education Modern Classical Languages	2026 2025	
Faculty representatives from each of the academic colleges elected by faculty in the college			
Penelope Muelenaer Diana Bairaktarova Amanda Stewart Katalin Parti Susan Whitehead Francisco Carvallo Lynn Resler Jennifer Clevenger Terry Clements	Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine Engineering Agriculture and Life Sciences Liberal Arts and Human Sciences Science Veterinary Medicine Natural Resources and Environment Business Arts, Architecture, and Design	2026 2027 2026 2025 2027 2025 2026 2027 2025	
Three elected representatives of the Cooperative Extension non-ex officio A/P faculty (The Administrative and Professional Faculty Senate will provide names of elected individuals)			
Eric Bendfeldt	Northern District Office	2027	

Abbigail Moore	Southwest Virginia 4-H Education Center	2026	
Ashley Appling	Culpeper Cooperative Extension Service	2025	
One Staff Senator elected by Staff Senate			
Becki Smith	Advancement	2027	
One graduate and professi	onal student senator elected by the Graduate and Professional Student Senate		
One graduate and professi	onal student senator elected by the Graduate and Professional Student Senate		
Abdeali Jivaji	Biological Sciences	2025	
0	t a suration also at ad less the Hundardsund disease Charles to Courate		
One undergraduate student senator elected by the Undergraduate Student Senate			
Cristailia Laing	International Relations	2025	

Note: At least 2 faculty members on the Commission on Outreach and International Affairs will have experience in leading study abroad programs.