## Commission on Research 2024-2025 Members

**CHARGE:** To study, formulate, and recommend to the Faculty Senate policies and procedures concerning research and research faculty. Areas for consideration include sponsored programs, core programs and interdisciplinary research; intellectual property; animal care and human subjects; indirect costs and returned overhead; research facilities, centers and institutes, and library resources; and liaison with affiliated corporations and institutes. The Commission on Research also conducts reviews of centers and institutes as described in Policy 13005; this function does not involve or require approval of any senate or University Council.

Chair elected by the Fa	aculty Senate	
Nicole Pitterson	Chair	2025
Ex Officio (By virtue of	f position)	
Daniel Sui Randy Heflin Alberto Cano	Senior Vice President and Chief Research and Innovation Officer Research and Innovation Senior Associate Vice President Associate Vice President for Research Computing	ex officio ex officio ex officio
One representative fro	om the Office of the Vice President for Outreach and International Affairs	
Thomas Archibald	Outreach and International Affairs	2027
One department or div	rision-level administrative representative appointed by the President	
Ella Atkins	Aerospace and Ocean Engineering	2025
One representative of	research-related interdisciplinary programs, groups, or centers appointed b	y the President
Benjamin Knapp	Institute for Creativity, Arts, and Technology	2025
One dean selected by	Council of College Deans	
Dan Givens	Veterinary Medicine	2026
One faculty representa institute director	ative from each of the university's thematic research institutes appointed by	the respective
Albert Pan Andrew Krum Joseph Gaeddert	Fralin Biomedical Research Institute Virginia Tech Transportation Institute Virginia Tech National Security Institute	2026 2027 2027
One faculty representa directors, collectively	ative of the university's research investment institutes appointed by the resp	pective institute
Barry Miller	Institute for Critical Technology and Applied Science (ICTAS)	2025
One faculty senator ele	ected by the Faculty Senate	
Manish Bansal	Mechanical Engineering	2026
Faculty representative	s from each of the academic colleges elected by the faculty in each of the c	olleges
Daniel Pauly	Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine	2026

Esra Büyüktahtakin Toy Ryan Stewart Corinne Noirot Karen Schnatterly Quinn Thomas Michelle Theus Ronald Gibbons Thomas Bell	Engineering Agriculture and Life Sciences Liberal Arts and Human Sciences Business Natural Resources and Environment Veterinary Medicine Architecture, Arts, and Design Science	2025 2025 2026 2025 2026 2027 2027 2027
One representative from th	e Library Faculty Association elected by the Library Faculty Association	
Jonathan Petters	University Libraries	2025
One non-ex officio A/P facu	ulty representative elected by the Administrative and Professional Faculty Senate	
Leanna Blevins	Fralin Biomedical Research Institute	2025
One representative in the F	Postdoctoral Associate rank elected by persons in that rank*	
Jorge Reyes	Mathematics	2026
	s working in research faculty appointments as defined in the Virginia Tech Faculty doctoral Associates) elected by persons in those ranks*	
Gibran Ali Caitlin Woodson	Virginia Tech Transportation Institute Biomedical Science	2027 2027
One staff senator elected b	y Staff Senate	
Vacant		2025
Two graduate and professi	onal student senators elected by the Graduate and Professional Student Senate	
Esther Park Elizabeth Sicking	Computer Science Application Entomology	2025 2025
One undergraduate studen	t senator elected by the Undergraduate Student Senate	
Sophie Thompsen	Computational and Systems Neuroscience	2025
	on process for these positions will be conducted by the Office of Research, which ne secretary of university council.	will

report election results to the secretary of university council.