University Council Minutes October 7, 2019 3:30 PM Steger Hall Conference Center

Present: Present: Tim Sands (presiding), Debra Stoudt for Laura Belmonte, Richard Blythe, Jack Finney for Cyril Clarke, Karen DePauw, Bryan Garey, Alan Grant, Brenda van Gelder for Scott Midkiff, Ken Miller, April Myers, Kim O'Rourke, Patricia Perillo, Julie Farmer for Charles Phlegar, Dwayne Pinkney, John Lesko for Julia Ross, Robert Sumichrast (via Zoom), Tyler Walters, Kim Akers for Lisa Wilkes, Paul Winistorfer, Jonathan Bradley, Urs Buehlmann, Greg Fansler, Bob Hicok, John Hole, Kimberley Homer, Alan Michaels, Kerry Redican, Lori Buchanan for Serena Young, Diane Agud, Eric Kaufman, Bettina Koch, Cayce Myers, Robin Queen, Anthony Wright de Hernandez, Daniel Hindman, Jia-Qiang He (via Zoom), David Tegarden, LaTawnya Burleson (via Zoom), Velva Groover, Brandy Morse, Sue Teel, Janice Austin, Khaled Hassouna, Glenda Scales, Caitlyn Stokes, Hani Awni, Alexis Hruby, Sharon Stidham, Blake Barnhill, John Ferris, Ryan King (via Zoom), & Tamarah Smith

Absent: Greg Daniel, Michael Friedlander, Guru Ghosh, Lee Learman, Steve McKnight, Sally Morton, Kelly Oaks, Menah Pratt-Clarke (with notice), Don Taylor, John Livingston, Monty Abbas, Lyn Abbott, David Bieri, Matthew Gabriele, Chris Lawrence, Mary Marchant (with notice), Brian Huddleston, Katrina Loan, Teresa Lyons, Inga Haugen (with notice), & Madelynn Todd

Guests: Catherine Amelink, Douglas Cannon, Kim Daniloski, Bob Denton, Kevin Edgar, Ron Fricker, Trish Hammer, Rachel Holloway, Jessica Hotter, Bryon Hughes, Sarah Johnson, Christina Miller, Scott Nachlis, Ellen Plummer, Rick Sparks, Paula Stuard, & Jennifer West

Dr. Sands called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. A quorum was present.

1. Adoption of Agenda

A motion was made and seconded to adopt the agenda. The motion carried.

2. Announcement of approval and posting of minutes of September 16, 2019

Dr. Sands noted that these minutes have been voted on electronically and can be publicly accessed on the Governance Information System on the Web (http://www.governance.vt.edu).

3. New Business

Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies

Resolution CUSP 2018-19A

Resolution to Approve New Major, Sports Media and Analytics, in Bachelor of Arts in Communication

Kerry Redican presented this resolution for first reading. There is currently a Sports Media and Analytics concentration in the Multimedia Journalism major which is very popular and growing rapidly. The Department of Communication wants to earn accreditation for the Sports Media and Analytics curriculum as part of efforts to ensure institutional excellence, and companies recruit more heavily from programs whose students have a major in the field.

4. Announcement of Approval and Posting of Commission Minutes

These minutes have been voted on electronically and will be posted on the University web (http://www.governance.vt.edu). Note that the purpose of voting on Commission minutes is to accept them for filing. University Council By-laws require that policy items be brought forward in resolution form for University Council action.

- Commission on Graduate and Professional Studies and Policies May 1, 2019
- Commission on Outreach and International Affairs August 29, 2019
- Commission on Undergraduate Studies and Policies September 9, 2019
- Commission on University Support November 15, 2018
 February 21, 2019
 March 21, 2019
 April 18, 2019

5. Presentation

John Ferris gave a presentation on the charge and upcoming work of the President's Committee on Governance (presentation attached).

6. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 3:44 p.m.



Charge and Update of the President's Committee on Governance

John B. Ferris October 7, 2019

Charge

"In order to align our governance with the needs of a twenty first century university and the Beyond Boundaries vision for Virginia Tech, an ad hoc committee will be formed and charged with defining a set of guiding principles for effective and equitable governance and outlining any changes to our existing system of governance required to put these principles into effect.

01 / SECTION TITLE

Charge

The committee will be composed of a representative cross section of faculty, staff, administrators, and students, and will report to the president. Upon the president's approval of the committee's recommendations, they will be taken through governance in the usual form of a resolution. The committee will be co-chaired by the Executive Vice President and Provost and the President of the Faculty Senate."

01 / SECTION TITLE

Roadmap

- Develop <u>Principles</u> of Shared Governance
- Identify preferred <u>Characteristics</u> that Virginia Tech Shared Governance should possess
- Propose and debate hypothetical <u>Structures</u> that embody those Characteristics and Principles.

Seek input repeatedly as part of an iterative process through which we will reconsider our ideas and proposals in light of the feedback from the wider community.

01 / SECTION TITLE



